Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2010, 07:55 PM   #1
A.K.A "THE STREAM"
 
THEPILL's Avatar
 
2010 25' FB International
Arlington , Texas
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,248
Images: 4
1st time filling both tanks,,,2010 Airstream

Well I have had my Airstream a little over 10 days and have used my Furnace quite alot. Power went out in our home for over 2 days and honestly have been just enjoying her in the driveway. Driveway camping, watching TV and such.... I noticed a couple days ago my Propane regulator gauge changed from Green to red. From the instructions in the owners manual it says when to color changes to remove the empty and change over to the other tank by turning the supply to the "reserve" tank.

Well I'm getting ready to go on a trip in a couple weeks and was wondering....Can I just wait until both tanks are empty and get them both filled at the same time? I know this sounds stupid but reading some of these other posts has me a little worried and I'd rather be safe than sorry.

Thanks,
Shane
__________________

__________________
http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g2...h_postcard.jpg

"Stay Thirsty My Friends"

Tow Vehicle" 2011 Superduty Diesel!!"

TAC ID TX-1432
THEPILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 08:00 PM   #2
Naysayer
 
Boondocker's Avatar

 
1968 24' Tradewind
Louisville , earth
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,635
Images: 7
Send a message via Yahoo to Boondocker
You can. Having said that, you will have to get the air out of the lines and relight all the pilots. Not a huge deal, but it can be a pain. Look for a propane dealer who sells propane by the pound/gallon and not by the tank. That way it is cheaper to fill the empty and just top off the second when the trip time comes. Another option is to use a 20# tank to keep the propane flowing while you get the two large tanks refilled at the same time.
__________________

__________________
Rodney

Visit my photography page
and the
Favorite camp grounds project map
My Blog

(The artist formerly known as General Disarray)

Boondocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 08:05 PM   #3
_
 
. , .
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,812
this stuff IS covered in the owners manual...

there is NO reason to turn on/turn off the 2 tanks one at a time...

turn them BOTH ON and the auto change over valve will automatically use the 2nd tank...

when the first is EMPTY...

the MAIN problem with waiting till both are empty is...

the fridge may not work IF the 120/ac juice fails again...

and the FURNACE won't be on to avoid FREEZING the water lines.

also the furnce/thermostat will need to be RESET if it tries running of NO GAS for a few minutes...

REset is covered also in the owners book.
__________

there are NO pilot lights on these MODERN units to re-light...

the water heater/fridge/furnace are all pieEzo/electric AUTOMATIC spark/light gizmos...

and the range top has a built in 'sparker'...


cheers
2air'
__________________
all of the true things that i am about to tell you are shameless lies. l.b.j.

we are here on earth to fart around. don't let anybody tell you any different. k.v.
2airishuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 08:10 PM   #4
A.K.A "THE STREAM"
 
THEPILL's Avatar
 
2010 25' FB International
Arlington , Texas
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,248
Images: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2airishuman View Post
this stuff IS covered in the owners manual...

there is NO reason to turn on/turn off the 2 tanks one at a time...

turn them BOTH ON and the auto change over valve will automatically use the 2nd tank...

when the first is EMPTY...

the MAIN problem with waiting till both are empty is...

the fridge may not work IF the 120/ac juice fails again...

and the FURNACE won't be on to avoid FREEZING the water lines.

also the furnce/thermostat will need to be RESET if it tries running of NO GAS for a few minutes...

REset is covered also in the owners book.
__________

there are NO pilot lights on these MODERN units to re-light...

the water heater/fridge/furnace are all pieEzo/electric AUTOMATIC spark/light gizmos...

and the range top has a built in 'sparker'...


cheers
2air'

Sorry 2air, It is NOT covered in the owners manual.

Buy a new one and look for yourself.

I can read and have read. It's not in the 2010 International owners manual.

Shane
__________________
http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g2...h_postcard.jpg

"Stay Thirsty My Friends"

Tow Vehicle" 2011 Superduty Diesel!!"

TAC ID TX-1432
THEPILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 08:21 PM   #5
_
 
. , .
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,812
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2airishuman View Post
this stuff IS covered in the owners manual...

there is NO reason to turn on/turn off the 2 tanks one at a time...

turn them BOTH ON and the auto change over valve will automatically use the 2nd tank...

when the first is EMPTY...
see page F-3 in the 2010 int. owners manual for the details related to this LP regulator/change over valve reference above...

and turning on/off da tanks...

4 folks who don't OWN a 2010 int/ccd u can find the stuff below.

http://service.airstream.com/files/l...8cd8146d0e.pdf

there are also paragraphs on the water heater gas function and furnace...

the RESET stuff is also covered IN the suburban booklet and web link to their sites...
_________

i don't think there IS any info on when or how to refill lp tanks but WORTHINGTON has a users guide/faq for tank related stuff...

and the a/s MANUAL includes a SPECIFIC warning box (also on f-3 or f-4)

that informs the owner to 'follow the tank manufacturers guides for filling'...

the tanks are USUALLY made by worthington,

but YOU will need to read the tank and confirm this to be sure...
_________

it CAN all be overwhelming, which is WHY we are here to help...

or not.

cheers
2air'
__________________
all of the true things that i am about to tell you are shameless lies. l.b.j.

we are here on earth to fart around. don't let anybody tell you any different. k.v.
2airishuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 08:39 PM   #6
A.K.A "THE STREAM"
 
THEPILL's Avatar
 
2010 25' FB International
Arlington , Texas
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,248
Images: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2airishuman View Post
see page F-3 in the 2010 int. owners manual for the details related to this LP regulator/change over valve reference above...

and turning on/off da tanks...

4 folks who don't OWN a 2010 int/ccd u can find the stuff below.

http://service.airstream.com/files/l...8cd8146d0e.pdf

there are also paragraphs on the water heater gas function and furnace...

the RESET stuff is also covered IN the suburban booklet and web link to their sites...
_________

i don't think there IS any info on when or how to refill lp tanks but WORTHINGTON has a users guide/faq for tank related stuff...

and the a/s MANUAL includes a SPECIFIC warning box (also on f-3 or f-4)

that informs the owner to 'follow the tank manufacturers guides for filling'...

the tanks are USUALLY made by worthington,

but YOU will need to read the tank and confirm this to be sure...
_________

it CAN all be overwhelming, which is WHY we are here to help...

or not.

cheers
2air'
Yep thats what I read......and just read again, Thanks for making me read it again....

So all I have to do is just unscrew them and read about the reset.

So would it be concieveable to cut off the battery connect switch then remove the tanks and fill them??

BTW furnace is an atwood with Duo-Therm Comfort Control....see you learn something new everyday.


SHane
__________________
http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g2...h_postcard.jpg

"Stay Thirsty My Friends"

Tow Vehicle" 2011 Superduty Diesel!!"

TAC ID TX-1432
THEPILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 08:49 PM   #7
_
 
. , .
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,812
Quote:
Originally Posted by THEPILL View Post
...So would it be concieveable to cut off the battery connect switch then remove the tanks and fill them??...
conceivable ? yes.

but WHY?

if the goal is to NOT have the furnace or water heater TRY to light without the tanks...

just turn OFF the water heater and furnace/thermostat.

unless u wanna put lp gas IN the batteries too...

then absolutely use the cut off switch...

cheers
2air'
__________________
all of the true things that i am about to tell you are shameless lies. l.b.j.

we are here on earth to fart around. don't let anybody tell you any different. k.v.
2airishuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 08:52 PM   #8
A.K.A "THE STREAM"
 
THEPILL's Avatar
 
2010 25' FB International
Arlington , Texas
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,248
Images: 4
I was thinkin along the lines of everything in a "store" mode. The switch doesn't work like that? It shuts just the batteries off? If so then why does the whole trailer shut down?

So in theory, with the battery switch switched off, No electrial at in trailer, all I would have to do is remove the tanks ...fill and replace and noone is the wiser? right?

Shane
__________________
http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g2...h_postcard.jpg

"Stay Thirsty My Friends"

Tow Vehicle" 2011 Superduty Diesel!!"

TAC ID TX-1432
THEPILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 08:59 PM   #9
_
 
. , .
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,812
the store/use switch is NOT intuitive...

but there are really good threads here on sorting out HOW and WHY it does what it does...

there's no need to turn OFF or disconnect the batteries to remove the lp tanks...

unless u r concerned about rogue sparks or bright ideas ignite'n things.

but ONCE they are off/filled and back on...

Quote:
Originally Posted by THEPILL View Post
...and noone is the wiser? right...
this will certainly be true.

cheer
2air'
__________________
all of the true things that i am about to tell you are shameless lies. l.b.j.

we are here on earth to fart around. don't let anybody tell you any different. k.v.
2airishuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 09:07 PM   #10
A.K.A "THE STREAM"
 
THEPILL's Avatar
 
2010 25' FB International
Arlington , Texas
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,248
Images: 4
Perfect, You sound like a surgeon who pretty much knows a lot.

Just doesn't know how to properly address people with direct answers, but hey to each his own. I have now named you DR. Riddle from now on. I still feel I am in the smae place as I was before all of this jibbering.

Next, please
Shane
__________________
http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g2...h_postcard.jpg

"Stay Thirsty My Friends"

Tow Vehicle" 2011 Superduty Diesel!!"

TAC ID TX-1432
THEPILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 09:14 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
AirsDream's Avatar
 
1999 23' Safari
Perrysburg , Ann Arbor
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 914
I have a different take on this ... I deliberately DO NOT turn on both propane tanks, but only one (the same one all the time) ... then when the furnace goes cold or the cooktop stops, I actually KNOW that one tank has gone dry and exactly when it happened.

Granted, I then gotta' go outside and manually turn on the second tank, but I know for sure right then, that it's time to refill one tank. With it on automatic, if you forget to check every so often (course, who amongst us ever forgets anything, huh?) you can (or not) be far into the second tank before you know it's happening. I'm sure the automatic regulator switches over just fine, but I'm paranoid about not knowing that I'm into the second tank. Am I nuts, or what? Then again, I've never run out of gas ...
__________________
AirsDream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 09:22 PM   #12
A.K.A "THE STREAM"
 
THEPILL's Avatar
 
2010 25' FB International
Arlington , Texas
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,248
Images: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by AirsDream View Post
I have a different take on this ... I deliberately DO NOT turn on both propane tanks, but only one (the same one all the time) ... then when the furnace goes cold or the cooktop stops, I actually KNOW that one tank has gone dry and exactly when it happened.

Granted, I then gotta' go outside and manually turn on the second tank, but I know for sure right then, that it's time to refill one tank. With it on automatic, if you forget to check every so often (course, who amongst us ever forgets anything, huh?) you can (or not) be far into the second tank before you know it's happening. I'm sure the automatic regulator switches over just fine, but I'm paranoid about not knowing that I'm into the second tank. Am I nuts, or what? Then again, I've never run out of gas ...
I would feel comfortable haveing two full tanks to start off with before a big trip. Thats all. One less thing to worry about while out on the road.

Shane
__________________
http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g2...h_postcard.jpg

"Stay Thirsty My Friends"

Tow Vehicle" 2011 Superduty Diesel!!"

TAC ID TX-1432
THEPILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 09:36 PM   #13
Rivet Master
 
AirsDream's Avatar
 
1999 23' Safari
Perrysburg , Ann Arbor
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 914
Well, ya' gotta define "big trip" ... two full tanks will last a LONG time unless it's very cold out and you're running the furnace a lot, running genset off the propane tank(s), etc. I'm content knowing FOR CERTAIN that I've got at least one full one.

And because some dealers won't sell less than a tankfull, I'm too cheap to be topping off a tank just to set out with two full ones. So, I drain one dry and refill it while running on the other.
__________________
AirsDream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 09:36 PM   #14
_
 
. , .
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,812
Quote:
Originally Posted by AirsDream View Post
I have a different take on this ... I deliberately DO NOT turn on both propane tanks ...
'dreams...

NOTHING wrong with that approach really, and it IS how mine are done in the summer...

when ONE 40 lb tank may last for months and months of daily use.

the only issue is that IF the furnace runs withOUT gas, not only will u need to go outside and do the switchover dance...

in the dark cold night, in the rain, without a flashlight, bare footed AND with bears nearby...

but the furnace may then need to be SHUT OFF (the thermostat ) for 5 minutes...

or is it 15? i've forgotten after doing that just ONE time.
________

some folks report LESS lp gas flows when using the 2nd tank via the valve but that's not been my experience...

and i agree RUNNING out on both is a risk...

which is a good reason to carry a small 3rd tank (mine 10lbs) AND a disposable lp 1 lb bottle,

with a 'steak saver' adapter....

THAT's a small/cheap back up that also works...

cheers
2air'
__________________

__________________
all of the true things that i am about to tell you are shameless lies. l.b.j.

we are here on earth to fart around. don't let anybody tell you any different. k.v.
2airishuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1st Time New Airstreamer need help coachjl13 Lights - Interior & Exterior 3 07-01-2008 12:34 PM
1st time buyer shutterdog 1985 Sovereign 3 06-23-2007 04:16 PM
Walbernize/wash- 1st time.... crazylev Cleaning, Stripping & Polishing 22 12-03-2006 07:51 AM
Can't wait to take her out for the 1st time! Share All Member Introductions 5 05-25-2006 05:31 AM
1st time RV buyer rgstone Airstream Motorhome Forums 1 02-08-2003 08:48 AM





All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.
Modal Click