Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-10-2016, 08:03 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2014 30' Classic
Fayetteville , North Carolina
WBCCI Doesn't want New Members ?

I am new to Airstream and really never have been big on joining clubs. With this said, my wife and I have been debating whether or not to join the local Airstream club. We heard that the National Rally was in WV this year. only 5 hours away and we thought we would check it out and if we liked it, we would join. I called WBCCI and talked to Julie and she informed me that the rally was for members only. I explained our situation and she said that she was sorry but only members could attend. She advised me to call our local Chapter and surely they could help me because I could come as a friend of someone in the club. I called the local Chapter and was told "No Way" would they let me come as a friend of one of the members but I could join and then would be able to go. I explained I would like to check out the whole scene first and than make a decision. He informed me that no one would sponsor me. Well, joining the WBCCI North Carolina Chapter is out of the question with people like this.
Lets travel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2016, 08:12 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1977 31' Sovereign
1963 26' Overlander
1989 34' Excella
Johnsburg , Illinois
The West Virginia International was sold out as of May 15th. We have 750 units coming, which exceeds the capacity of the State Fairground, where it will be held. When we had more space available, we had some Internationals that were "buddy rallies" where potential members could come, after paying the rally fees. This year is different. Sorry to disappoint you. Visit you local unit rallies and see if your impression remains the same. If it does, try a different unit. All units have their own personalities, based on the members' wishes.
dwightdi is offline   Reply With Quote