Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-22-2005, 08:07 PM   #1
Rivet Master

1992 34' Limited
Falls Church , Virginia
34' Limited Issues

Newbies First Post!

Have been 'lurking' and learning for a while, got a LOT of great info before buying the "Dream". Got a '92 34' Classic Limited for what I think is a decent price. Seems a low use unit with a zillion 'upgrades' from PO. Getting it all cleaned out and ready for the family and it's first use for us.

BTW, TOTAL newbie to AS's. Always had "the dream" - now she, Silver Toy, sits in the driveway and I am like a proud first time dad. Head spinning and all that. Where to start?!?!

Now to a few questions.

Having charging issues!? Pulled the unit from Provo area to ALB, NM, and only got a 'fair' charge according to the monitor. What should I look at first, 2nd, etc. Took batteries out to charge them in the garage. Batteries themselves look AOK,('02 Deep Cycle marine batteries) but seems to me they should be "full" after that trip - NO use by us during the ride. Tow Vehicle Alternator gauge showed 14 amps the whole way. Somethings not right!?

The interior looks really good. PO put that carpet sticky stuff down ( like in houses when the movers come). Wondering where to start as far as shaking the unit down in the driveway for the first trip? Suggestions, things I should be doing, looking for?

Curious, should I go ahead and install a 30amp plug on the house (25 feet from breaker box to garage wall) so that it can be plugged in then here at the house? Is there anything I am overlooking? No issues with neighbors here in the East Mountains, near ALB. LOVING IT!

Also, is there a web site that will show me the locations of holding tanks - black and gray, as well as fresh water? Looking for locations so I can get an idea as to towing balance and such.

Thanks in advance for all the help!

Ciao

Axel