Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-15-2008, 06:49 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2005 25' Classic
LaSalle , Michigan
Roof Vent Sealer - 2005 Classic

What is the best roof sealer to use around the fans, skylights, etc? I've heard the term "self-leveling". Is that the key or is there a particular brand that's best for AS? I'm kind of new to this. This is my first trailer, so I thought I would start with the best. We have a 2005 25' Classic. On our last trip we had a few drips coming out of the light fixture between the Fantastic fan and the skylight after a night of rain. Thanks for the help.
Redcobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2008, 08:46 PM   #2
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer

Corona , California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redcobra View Post
What is the best roof sealer to use around the fans, skylights, etc? I've heard the term "self-leveling". Is that the key or is there a particular brand that's best for AS? I'm kind of new to this. This is my first trailer, so I thought I would start with the best. We have a 2005 25' Classic. On our last trip we had a few drips coming out of the light fixture between the Fantastic fan and the skylight after a night of rain. Thanks for the help.
"Vulkem sealer" is the superior sealer that Airstream uses, for large seams.

DO NOT ever attempt to use any form of silicone sealer on the exterior.

Andy
Inland RV Center, In is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2008, 09:39 PM   #3
Rivet Master
Commercial Member

Vintage Kin Owner
Naples , Florida
Quote:
As Andy says, Vulkem is a great product, but I prefer SikaFlex 221, which is used on the newer units for large sealing applications. They are both excellent polyurethane sealants, but I find that the SikaFlex is 'stickier' and a little easier to work with.