Old 09-13-2015, 09:50 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member

2015 Interstate Ext. Coach
Great Falls , Virginia
Winter is coming...

Since I am still in my 1st year of ownership, I don't have experience prepping for winter... This morning I have been reading up on what to do for winter storage of an RV. This article seems pretty helpful but are there any Interstate-specific things that should be done when storing at an outdoor storage facility? I live in an area that can get a lot of snow, hail, ice, wind etc....

Winter storage tips:
RV101ģ RV Winter Storage Tips | RVTrader.com

Old 09-13-2015, 11:02 AM   #2
Figment of My Imagination

2012 Interstate Coach
From All Over , More Than Anywhere Else
First of all, remember that your Interstate isn't just an RV, it's also a van. You can use it year-round even if you don't use it for camping year-round. If road conditions are safe enough to drive, they're safe enough to drive an Interstate.

As for winterizing, the main Interstate-specific thing is the macerator pump and discharge hose.

When you empty the holding tanks for the last time before winterizing, flush the black tank until the only thing that comes out is clear water. Do the same with the gray tank because soap residue doesn't mix well with antifreeze either.

Make sure you unreel the entire discharge hose to dump, even if the dump station is only two or three feet away. You want to make sure that no water is trapped in the hose.

Add RV antifreeze to the black tank, and pump it through the macerator pump until RV antifreeze comes out the end of the hose, but don't pump it all out; you want some antifreeze to be in the big hose between the black tank and the macerator pump, and some in the pump, and some in the discharge hose.

Everything else about winterizing an Interstate will be about the same as for any other RV.

WBCCI #1105
TAC LA-4

My Google-Fu is strong today.
Protagonist is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2015, 04:14 PM   #3
3 Rivet Member