Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > Sprinter and B-van Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-07-2014, 07:30 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2015 Interstate Ext. Coach
Sherrills Ford , North Carolina
Water System

I'm new to RVing, and also with my 2015 Grand Tour. I need a little help to understand the water system. When I hook up to campsite water, how does the system work?
>Am I still drawing down the fresh water tanks?
>Is there some sort of bypass which senses hook-up pressure, and switches over the feed from the tank?
>If I forget to turn off the pump, and then hook up, what happens? Am I on hook-up, or tank supply?
I am asking because I would like to cycle through the tank water whenever possible. I usually hook up, and so the tank may not be used for weeks at a time. Personally, I don't like the flavor of plastic.....
BillyBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2014, 08:11 AM   #2
Figment of My Imagination

2012 Interstate Coach
From All Over , More Than Anywhere Else
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyBoy View Post
When I hook up to campsite water, how does the system work?
>Am I still drawing down the fresh water tanks?
>Is there some sort of bypass which senses hook-up pressure, and switches over the feed from the tank?
>If I forget to turn off the pump, and then hook up, what happens? Am I on hook-up, or tank supply?
There are two ways to use your fresh water system.
1 - Hook up to municipal water. This does NOT fill the freshwater tank; there is a check valve in the pump to prevent back-flow from the plumbing to the tank. In this situation, you don't even turn on the pump.