Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-03-2014, 05:22 PM   #1
Rivet Master

2015 Interstate Ext. Coach
San Diego , California
Tell Us About Your 1st Trip

In your Interstate. Thought it would be fun to start a thread where all AI owners could share their 1st trip, be it, State Park, RV Park, see friends or relatives, or ??? Where did you go? How many miles did you dare on your shakedown? 1 night, 2 nights etc?
Ron_CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 05:43 PM   #2
Figment of My Imagination

2012 Interstate Coach
From All Over , More Than Anywhere Else
Three nights, to Bogue Chitto State Park, LA. Maybe 50 miles from home. I went there partly because they had full hookups, and despite being a newbie, I had a clear memory of Robin Williams's adventures at the dump station in RV. Having full hookups allowed me to experiment with the waste system without having anybody impatiently waiting on me at a dump station or kibitzing. Good thing, too. Until I figured out the trick, I got the discharge hose jammed up twice trying to reel it back in— the motor is awfully fast— and blew the fuse twice as a result.

But another other reason I went there is that was the closest campground that wasn't booked solid for Mardi Gras weekend, and I wanted to be relatively close to home in case I had to run back home to fetch anything I had forgotten. I hadn't forgotten anything much, luckily, but I did start compiling a list of the "If only I had…" items for the next trip.

And still another reason was the park's 14 miles of hiking trails. Which I still need to go back someday and hike the ones I didn't get to on that trip.
Old 04-03-2014, 05:56 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2021 25' International
Full timer , Virginia