Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-06-2015, 10:35 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2015 Interstate Ext. Coach
Boynton Beach , Florida
Solar not charging

2015 AI coach being loaded for the Blue Ridge fall colors and noticed batteries at 65%, display is showing 670 hours and .0 charge in bright FL sunshine today. We use our coach weekly and have always held around 90%. Checked above and panel is free from debris. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks so much. (I have zero knowledge in amperage/voltage)
CraigL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 01:03 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2014 Interstate Ext. Coach
Sedona , Arizona
The controller is supposed to cut in at 12.4 volts (80% displayed). The fact you have a few hundred hours clocked on the display indicates it was working before.
The parts book lists a fuse and a breaker, but I'm not sure where they're located. I would try to find those and check them.

Sent from my iPad using Airstream Forums
UKDUDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 04:52 PM   #3
Rivet Master
Commercial Member

Vintage Kin Owner
Naples , Florida
I havre seen 2 fuses used in Airstream's solar installations.

The first is located inside the plastic junction box that attracted directly to the underside on the panel.

The second is on the output wire from the charge controller, which is usually under your rear lounge.

I haven't been in any 16s yet, but I understand that with the batteries under the floor and the control panels in front behind the driver's head that the locations have changed.

Lew Farber
RVIA/RVDA Nationally Certified Master Tech
Master Tech Energy Systems, Inc.
AM Solar Certified Installation Center
Lifeline Batteries**Magnum Inverters
541-490-6357
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 06:15 PM   #4
Rivet Master

2011 Interstate Coach
Overland Park , Kansas