Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2013, 08:30 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member
 
2010 22' Interstate
Vincennes , Indiana
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 116
Second Starting Battery

I have a 2010 unit and my starting battery is under the floorboard. Is there a bracket or holder to hold a second under the hood?
__________________

__________________
aa9zz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 09:53 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
wayneskid's Avatar

 
2010 22' Interstate
Anchorage , Alaska
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 515
Images: 1
Depending on the MY of your Sprinter (vs the Airstream MY), there may have been an option for a second starting battery that gets mounted under the hood above the main computer module. Just out of curiosity, why do you want a second starting battery?
__________________

__________________
- wayne
2010 Interstate 3500 Twin Bed
(2008 Freightliner CRD Sprinter)
AIR #44779
TAC AK-1 !!
wayneskid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 06:43 AM   #3
Figment of My Imagination
 
Protagonist's Avatar
 
2012 Interstate Coach
From All Over , More Than Anywhere Else
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10,329
I looked into getting one retrofit on my Interstate. Way too complicated, and way too expensive for what it's worth, based on information I got from my Spritner dealer. I would have to get the bracket, the battery (which has to match the chassis battery you already have), the relay, several feet of 10-gauge wire, a larger alternator, AND get the sliding step, awning, and alarm system wiring transferred from the original battery to the auxiliary battery. Those three systems are the only ones that I could power from the auxiliary battery.

The second battery under the hood is meant to run auxiliary systems. It's not a second starting battery. The relay doesn't even allow that battery to be connected to the main battery until after the engine is running, so that it can recharge.

The auxiliary battery under the hood is primarily used for ambulances, news vans, and other commercial applications where they've got equipment that has to be kept running even after the engine shuts off. In other words, it's their "house" system.
__________________
WBCCI #1105
TAC LA-4

My Google-Fu is strong today.
Protagonist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 11:43 AM   #4
4 Rivet Member
 
2011 Interstate Coach
Muskogee , Oklahoma
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 452
I wonder if you could just use the bracket to mount another AGM and hook it up to the house batteries? It would be nice to add another one to simply increase the amp hours since there sure isn't room in my standard lounge (without the basement) to put one. I can't figure out how the bracket is mounted.

Gerald

Quote:
Originally Posted by Protagonist View Post
I looked into getting one retrofit on my Interstate. Way too complicated, and way too expensive for what it's worth, based on information I got from my Spritner dealer. I would have to get the bracket, the battery (which has to match the chassis battery you already have), the relay, several feet of 10-gauge wire, a larger alternator, AND get the sliding step, awning, and alarm system wiring transferred from the original battery to the auxiliary battery. Those three systems are the only ones that I could power from the auxiliary battery.

The second battery under the hood is meant to run auxiliary systems. It's not a second starting battery. The relay doesn't even allow that battery to be connected to the main battery until after the engine is running, so that it can recharge.

The auxiliary battery under the hood is primarily used for ambulances, news vans, and other commercial applications where they've got equipment that has to be kept running even after the engine shuts off. In other words, it's their "house" system.
__________________
2011 Interstate WD/Lounge
gmillerok1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 01:14 PM   #5
4 Rivet Member
 
David M's Avatar
 
2013 Interstate Coach
Orange County , California
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmillerok1 View Post
I wonder if you could just use the bracket to mount another AGM and hook it up to the house batteries? It would be nice to add another one to simply increase the amp hours since there sure isn't room in my standard lounge (without the basement) to put one. I can't figure out how the bracket is mounted.

Gerald
Yeah, I was thinking the same thing because having the "basement" for hoses and tools instead of for batteries is very handy.
David
__________________
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 01:26 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
73shark's Avatar
 
2011 Interstate Coach
Overland Park , Kansas
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by David M View Post

Yeah, I was thinking the same thing because having the "basement" for hoses and tools instead of for batteries is very handy.
David
If the house batteries use a common chassis ground then you would only need to run 1 heavy cable to the rear of the RV. Not sure if they do however.
__________________
Glass half full or half empty to an engineer is the glass is twice as big as it needs to be.

PM me for sale info on my 2011. SOLD!
Upfitted Transit 350 sitting in driveway.
73shark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 02:27 PM   #7
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,282
It's not a good idea to add a battery to an existing battery bank, as the charge profiles will be different. Plus, I would not rely on the chassis ground as multiple batteries should be connected with parallel positive AND negative cables to the appropriate terminals.
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 03:20 PM   #8
3 Rivet Member
 
2010 22' Interstate
Vincennes , Indiana
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 116
Thanks

My original intent was not to use it as a second starting battery but to have an accessory battery under the hood. It looks like it is more complicated than I thought it might be. My expertise is in marketing and advertising. I rely on you guys to set me straight on things Airstream. You all did a very good job here again.


Quote:
Originally Posted by wayneskid View Post
Depending on the MY of your Sprinter (vs the Airstream MY), there may have been an option for a second starting battery that gets mounted under the hood above the main computer module. Just out of curiosity, why do you want a second starting battery?
__________________
aa9zz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 04:23 PM   #9
4 Rivet Member
 
David M's Avatar
 
2013 Interstate Coach
Orange County , California
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewster View Post
It's not a good idea to add a battery to an existing battery bank, as the charge profiles will be different. Plus, I would not rely on the chassis ground as multiple batteries should be connected with parallel positive AND negative cables to the appropriate terminals.
Thanks Lew,
Good info to have before spending money down that path
David
__________________
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 09:41 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
Boxster1971's Avatar

 
2013 Interstate Coach
Fulton , Maryland
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,269
Aux battery installation

If you would like to know what is involved in the Sprinter Aux battery installation see the attached pdf file from Sprinter Engineering & Compliance. It even says: "For cost and practical reasons we recommned to order this option directly from the plant."
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Aux battery retrofit 01-01-2010.pdf (3.41 MB, 42 views)
__________________
- - Mike
--------------------------
2013 Airstream Interstate Lounge EXT
Boxster1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 06:37 AM   #11
Figment of My Imagination
 
Protagonist's Avatar
 
2012 Interstate Coach
From All Over , More Than Anywhere Else
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10,329
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boxster1971 View Post
If you would like to know what is involved in the Sprinter Aux battery installation see the attached pdf file from Sprinter Engineering & Compliance. It even says: "For cost and practical reasons we recommned to order this option directly from the plant."
I confirmed with my Sprinter dealer that the instructions and parts list are much the same regardless of the model year. And, it's impossible to buy the whole thing as a kit; you have to order each of the parts a la carte.
__________________

__________________
WBCCI #1105
TAC LA-4

My Google-Fu is strong today.
Protagonist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.