Old 02-05-2013, 08:49 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

2010 22' Interstate
Vincennes , Indiana
Safe Spring Temps

Another newbie question...

This is my first spring with an RV, and, as a college professor, I am looking forward to early March spring break. I have winterized my 2010 Airstream Interstate but would need to get it ready for travel.

I would need to park it overnight in my driveway after summer prep is finished and before heading to Florida. What temps are acceptable and what is just too cold to be safe?

How can I keep it safe for one or two nights?

Old 02-05-2013, 09:23 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 28
1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
Wauwatosa , Wisconsin
I would think you could do all the summer prep except anything water related.
I blow out my water lines and add rv-anti-freeze to them as well as to the holding tanks.
I would prep everything else, then wait untill I got into warmer weather to flush out the water lines.
Although I wouldn't want to, rv-anti-freeze is safe to drink. So if I could not flush well, I would use that water for everything except drinking.
I bring bottled water camping anyway for drinking and cooking.
Then on the return to colder weather, drain the water and add anti-freeze if the forecast was for below freezing.

Old 02-05-2013, 09:32 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Vincennes is pretty far south. Watch the forecast, drain the AF but don't flush until you are comfortable that you won't see freezing temps before/during your departure. The night before, even if it gets down to the mid-upper 20's, flush the lines and sanitize the tank/lines. FILL the fresh water tank with warm water and run the furnace all night with the cabinets which expose plumbing open. The mass of the full tank of warm water + the heat circulated won't allow freezing overnight.

If the forecast is for hard freezing even during your first day of travel, follow tiger's advice.