Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-03-2014, 12:52 PM   #127
Rivet Master
 
Currently Looking...
Nowhere , Somewhere
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,417
Blog Entries: 2
No you cannot without problems sooner or later. Jim
__________________

__________________
avionstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 01:41 PM   #128
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,140
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
You will eventually damage the A/C running it with a 15/30 adaptor. The voltage drop caused by the smaller wire, plus the increased current will damage the 15/30 adaptor.
The guy at A$ doesn't have a clue!
__________________

__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 03:04 PM   #129
Rivet Master
 
Boxster1971's Avatar

 
2013 Interstate Coach
Fulton , Maryland
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by TG Twinkie View Post
You will eventually damage the A/C running it with a 15/30 adaptor. The voltage drop caused by the smaller wire, plus the increased current will damage the 15/30 adaptor.
The guy at A$ doesn't have a clue!

Just use a 20 amp circuit. The adapter will support 20 amps and It works OK on the Interstates with their smaller AC units. You select the 20 amp option on the power monitor panel and you won't be able to power much else. The AC on an Interstate draws about 18 amps at max.


- - Mike
2013 Lounge EXT on 2012 Sprinter
__________________
- - Mike
--------------------------
2013 Airstream Interstate Lounge EXT
Boxster1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 08:38 PM   #130
BikerBill
 
2014 Interstate Ext. Coach
Poconos of Pa , Pennsylvania
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 239
jquayle, if you are plugged into a 15 amp circuit and your rv is the only thing drawing power from that 15 amp circuit and you are using a heavy extension cord as you state, no problem. That is unless it over 20-25' long. Window air conditioners in most houses are plugged into 15 amp outlets in the home and there is no problem. What you want to make sure with your RV is to not turn on any other heavy duty current draws: water heater for example.
__________________
Bikerbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2014, 04:40 PM   #131
4 Rivet Member
 
toskeysam's Avatar
 
2013 Interstate Coach
Townsend , Tennessee
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 487
To pharmgeek....I just looked into a 30 amp installation. Box set at 150 feet from main panel.....cable alone was $600. Ouch! May move the parking pad a little closer to the house.


Sent from my iPad using Airstream Forums
__________________
FMCA # 436814
toskeysam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2014, 06:33 PM   #132
Rivet Master
 
PharmGeek's Avatar

 
2014 30' FB FC Bunk
Hoover , Alabama
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,377
yeah, no matter how I slice it, its going to be expensive....electrician is coming on monday to quote me on the cheapest way to do it...but expect it will be total cast at least 1K...if not 2k or more...we shall see...

Given how rare I will need to run AC at home and such....I may just buy something like the new Honda EU7000 (or its predecessor EU6500) and use it for home backup and home airstream use...and for travel when I will have no hookups....
__________________
“The atoms of our bodies are traceable to stars that manufactured them...We are not figuratively, but literally stardust.”


PharmGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2014, 06:39 PM   #133
Rivet Master
 
Currently Looking...
Nowhere , Somewhere
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,417
Blog Entries: 2
Might not be a bad idea, it being hurricane season. A genny at home to use with the AS or to run the fridge and fans etc, during power shortage is reassuring. Remember to store gas and exercise the genny occasionally. Those big units are real quiet, also. Jim
__________________
avionstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2014, 10:33 PM   #134
4 Rivet Member
 
2004 16' International CCD
Chicagoland , Illinois
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 265
Images: 2
Depending on what else you need to power in addition to the air conditioning you might be able to get by with much less generator. I see that Honda manufacturers quite a few different 5000 W units. You could probably save some money if you bought one of them instead of the 6500 or larger.
__________________
Airrogant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 05:23 AM   #135
Rivet Master
 
switz's Avatar

 
2014 31' Classic
2015 23' International
2013 25' FB International
Apache Junction , Arizona
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4,799
Images: 8
A 50m amp circuit like the wiring coming into the circuit breaker box in the Airstream trailer is composed of three #6 conductors for that short entrance cable.

To go over 100' and contend with air conditioner startup current, I could see direct burial #2 copper triplex cable. After all it is only $$$$$$$ and it is for your Airstream which is worth it.
__________________
WBCCI Life Member 5123, AIR 70341, 4CU, WD9EMC

TV - 2012 Dodge 2500 4x4 Cummins HO, automatic, Centramatics, Kelderman level ride airbag suspension, bed shell

2014 31' Classic model 30 twin beds, 50 amp service, 900 watt solar system, Centramatics, Dill TPMS, disc brakes, 16" tires & wheels
switz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 07:57 AM   #136
Rivet Master
 
mefly2's Avatar
 
2015 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Western , ** Big Sky Country ** Montana
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,283
Quote:
Originally Posted by jquayle View Post
You can use a normal 110v with an adapter and still run the ac unit. Dealer supplied my a a heavy gauge 30amp extension and an adapter down to normal wall outlet when I bought my AS.


Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums
Do you have that on a 30 amp home circuit? Even with that and any distance from a dedicated outlet, you will be risking trouble IMHO.
__________________
mefly2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 08:32 AM   #137
Rivet Master
 
PharmGeek's Avatar

 
2014 30' FB FC Bunk
Hoover , Alabama
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,377
Quote:
Originally Posted by switz View Post
A 50m amp circuit like the wiring coming into the circuit breaker box in the Airstream trailer is composed of three #6 conductors for that short entrance cable.



To go over 100' and contend with air conditioner startup current, I could see direct burial #2 copper triplex cable. After all it is only $$$$$$$ and it is for your Airstream which is worth it.

Uhhhh - just how many $$$$ are talking for that cable ?!?!
?
__________________
“The atoms of our bodies are traceable to stars that manufactured them...We are not figuratively, but literally stardust.”


PharmGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 08:32 AM   #138
Rivet Master
 
PharmGeek's Avatar

 
2014 30' FB FC Bunk
Hoover , Alabama
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,377
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airrogant View Post
Depending on what else you need to power in addition to the air conditioning you might be able to get by with much less generator. I see that Honda manufacturers quite a few different 5000 W units. You could probably save some money if you bought one of them instead of the 6500 or larger.

Thanks - I'll be looking into these as well
__________________
“The atoms of our bodies are traceable to stars that manufactured them...We are not figuratively, but literally stardust.”


PharmGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 08:55 AM   #139
Rivet Master
 
wayneskid's Avatar

 
2010 22' Interstate
Anchorage , Alaska
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 515
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by PharmGeek View Post
Uhhhh - just how many $$$$ are talking for that cable ?!?!
?
To supply a 30A load 100' away #6 wire (copper) will keep the voltage drop to 3%. 125' of 63 UF-B cable is $306 at Home Depot.
__________________
- wayne
2010 Interstate 3500 Twin Bed
(2008 Freightliner CRD Sprinter)
AIR #44779
TAC AK-1 !!
wayneskid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2014, 08:11 AM   #140
3 Rivet Member
 
jquayle's Avatar
 
2013 Interstate Coach
Napa , California
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bikerbill View Post
jquayle, if you are plugged into a 15 amp circuit and your rv is the only thing drawing power from that 15 amp circuit and you are using a heavy extension cord as you state, no problem. That is unless it over 20-25' long. Window air conditioners in most houses are plugged into 15 amp outlets in the home and there is no problem. What you want to make sure with your RV is to not turn on any other heavy duty current draws: water heater for example.

Thanks for the info. We don't do it very often, but occasionally before a trip with the kids we run it for a few minutes to cool down the AS before we leave. Normally the only items I have running are the fridge and the ceiling fan on the temp sensitive setting. (I find opening the rear most pop out window vents along with the ceiling fan draws a good amount air and keeps the van cool on all but the hottest days)

Jeff


Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums
__________________

__________________
jquayle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.