Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-14-2016, 12:39 PM   #1
Rivet Master

2016 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Bellevue , Washington
Pre-check for New Airstream Interstate

Hello everyone.

First, thanks for a super nice forum. It was actually part of the reason I decided to buy an Airstream! Calm forum with lots of good information/posters .

We have put a deposit on a new Airstream Interstate that will be arriving mid next week. I will be inspecting it prior to finalizing the purchase. It will have about 1,000 miles on it due to it being driven from another location to here.

I have told the salesman I will be going over everything to be fixed prior to purchase. I have owned boats and cars and have done a lot of such inspections. I am also an electrical engineer.

My question is, for those of you who have bought these, what were the items you checked for or wish you had checked for prior to purchase?

Like to take advantage of the leverage I have now to get things fixed.

Thanks in advance.
amirm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2016, 12:55 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2006 22' Interstate
League City , Texas
If you've read our dozens of battery and solar threads, you already know that we could use a sparky around here. Welcome aboard.

Here is the unofficial airforums checklist (motor home bits at the end):
http://www.airforums.com/forums/atta...8&d=1215128295

Some folks have had leaky window issues upon delivery and rust around some of the body cuts. Assembly is done on a tight timetable so check every switch and device. It's not unheard of to have something installed without being fully connected.
LB_3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2016, 02:48 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2024 Interstate 19
Fulton , Maryland