Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-22-2015, 10:19 AM   #1
Gio
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Currently Looking...
Sherman Oaks , California
Newbie, could really use some help before purchasing a new Interstate

Hi everyone, I am a newbie here but have benefited greatly from the knowledge and experience of many of the forum members, so firstly, thank you all for that.

My wife and I just sold the travel trailer and we were looking to purchase a 2015 Interstate Lounge EXT (we think the AI styling is best in its class, in our humble opinion). We really didn't need all the space in the trailer and thought the class b would provide some additional conveniences and functionality.

Please forgive my ignorance, I was hoping to get your opinions before making this purchase.

two general scenarios:

Would it be okay to drive into the city, park on the street in the middle of downtown (assuming a space is available), start up the generator on a warm day (say mid 80’s) and use the AI as a mobile office, sit in the back with the laptop, fridge and A/C running, maybe fire up the microwave too for lunch. Is this realistically possible? If so, how much time could I expect to get out of this, at least 3-4 hours? Would the generator running in the middle of the city upset anyone, passersby, police officers, nearby business owners etc..? Is this proper class b etiquette?