Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-04-2016, 06:16 PM   #1
Rivet Master

2006 22' Interstate
League City , Texas
My Interstate Lithium Battery Adventures

This is long, if you need a TL;DR, this thread isn't for you. In short, I don't like most solar/lithium combos on the market today and have chosen what I hope is a superior solution even if there is little to no market support. Hi, I'm LB_3 and I'm a recovering engineer.

I'm still a couple months away from doing any real work rewiring our Interstate and converting to lithium batteries but as we've discussed ad nauseum (here, here, here, & here, etc...), the Interstate wasn't born as a great boondocking platform. The AI was built with the assumption that people will want to stay in campgrounds/RV parks with electrical hookups or be able to run the generator when hookups aren't available. This may work for most occasions but generators are noisy and the propane they use is a finite resource which merely extends the duration between when we must plug in.

To solve this problem, we need more solar and more battery capacity. Boxter1971 did a great job addressing the need for more batteries by slinging several additional AGMs under his chassis. Unfortunately, the T1N AIs are already near their weight limit so adding 300 lbs of lead and steel under our vehicle is problematic, particularly when InterBlog already has me looking to adding another 200#s to our vehicle to support a custom hitch mounted swing arm and basket.

So this leads to the discussion about Lithium batteries. They're lighter and smaller than lead acid batteries and the Lithium polymer chemistries are much safer than the Lithium ion chemistries that made exploding laptops famous. Yes, they're expensive but when reviewing the lifecycle costs, they are more than cost competitive, they're actually cheaper.