Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2019, 08:31 AM   #1
Prof. of Pending Projects
 
wachuko's Avatar
 
2018 Tommy Bahama Interstate
Orlando , Florida
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 2,306
Question Multiple loads while on shore power

I tried searching because I know there is a thread on this, but I could not find it... so pardon the duplicate thread. Maybe admin can merge once we find it.

So here it goes... When on shore power (30 amps).... I should be able to run everything, right??

What happens today is that the A/C (low setting) will shutdown as soon as I start the espresso maker, or the microwave. I can understand that happening when using the generator due to its capacity limits, but why would this happen on 30 amps shore power?
__________________

__________________
Safe travels!
Wachuko
WBCCI #26769
2018 Airstream Interstate 3500 Lounge EXT Tommy Bahama w/ARS
wachuko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 08:55 AM   #2
Prof. of Pending Projects
 
wachuko's Avatar
 
2018 Tommy Bahama Interstate
Orlando , Florida
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 2,306
Capturing some threads on EMS/Power Control System.

Quote:
EMS (Energy Management System) is know as a Power Control System by its manufacturer, Precision Circuits Inc. (PCI).
http://www.airforums.com/forums/f240...ns-132709.html
__________________

__________________
Safe travels!
Wachuko
WBCCI #26769
2018 Airstream Interstate 3500 Lounge EXT Tommy Bahama w/ARS
wachuko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 08:58 AM   #3
Wannabe RV'er in training
 
Alex AVI's Avatar

 
2018 Interstate Lounge Ext
High Desert , Las Vegas , Nevada
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 2,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by wachuko View Post
I tried searching because I know there is a thread on this, but I could not find it... so pardon the duplicate thread. Maybe admin can merge once we find it.

So here it goes... When on shore power (30 amps).... I should be able to run everything, right??

What happens today is that the A/C (low setting) will shutdown as soon as I start the espresso maker, or the microwave. I can understand that happening when using the generator due to its capacity limits, but why would this happen on 30 amps shore power?
WACHUKO - Did you check your PCS EMS that it is set to 30A ? There are 3 settings 15, 20, 30
Alex AVI is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 08:59 AM   #4
PKI
Rivet Master
 
PKI's Avatar
 
2015 23' FB Flying Cloud
Walnut Creek , California
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 3,637
The answer is, no, you can't. You can use 30 amps. When your loading exceeds that, the appliance controls shut down what can't operate at lower voltage. Of course not all appliances/electrical loads are voltage controlled.

Might be a good idea to check some of the amp hour budget lists that folks post. should give you an idea of what will run. Pat
PKI is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 09:01 AM   #5
Prof. of Pending Projects
 
wachuko's Avatar
 
2018 Tommy Bahama Interstate
Orlando , Florida
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 2,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex AVI View Post
WACHUKO - Did you check your PCS EMS that it is set to 30A ? There are 3 settings 15, 20, 30
This should be my problem. Incorrect settings. I need to pull out the manuals and see where that is done. Thank you!
__________________
Safe travels!
Wachuko
WBCCI #26769
2018 Airstream Interstate 3500 Lounge EXT Tommy Bahama w/ARS
wachuko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 09:03 AM   #6
Prof. of Pending Projects
 
wachuko's Avatar
 
2018 Tommy Bahama Interstate
Orlando , Florida
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 2,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by PKI View Post
The answer is, no, you can't. You can use 30 amps. When your loading exceeds that, the appliance controls shut down what can't operate at lower voltage. Of course not all appliances/electrical loads are voltage controlled.

Might be a good idea to check some of the amp hour budget lists that folks post. should give you an idea of what will run. Pat
Thanks, but I know that I am not pulling the 30 amps to make it shutdown one load...

Let me check settings first and rule out an easy solution...
__________________
Safe travels!
Wachuko
WBCCI #26769
2018 Airstream Interstate 3500 Lounge EXT Tommy Bahama w/ARS
wachuko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 09:10 AM   #7
PKI
Rivet Master
 
PKI's Avatar
 
2015 23' FB Flying Cloud
Walnut Creek , California
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 3,637
If you know the total load, then you likely found the problem. Happy travels. Pat
PKI is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 09:18 AM   #8
Wannabe RV'er in training
 
Alex AVI's Avatar

 
2018 Interstate Lounge Ext
High Desert , Las Vegas , Nevada
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 2,460
Press SCROLL until you get to Amp Settings (SERVICE Type)
Press SELECT to change through the 3 settings
Or the other way around, going by memory here, only 2 buttons but can't remember which is which. Don't worry, you won't blow up if you hit wrong one
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20180522_120105.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	157.1 KB
ID:	351544  
Alex AVI is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 09:35 AM   #9
Prof. of Pending Projects
 
wachuko's Avatar
 
2018 Tommy Bahama Interstate
Orlando , Florida
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 2,306
Yeah... this is what I see, but can’t change it... let me get the manuals...



We are here in Siesta Key again this weekend... You think I would prefer to be out in the sun, instead I would like to sort this out ... there is something wrong with me...

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	7C38A647-EE3F-4090-BBEE-668F400D0ECB.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	637.1 KB
ID:	351545   Click image for larger version

Name:	962763A6-A03C-484F-9B5D-A41B5CEDA8F9.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	436.1 KB
ID:	351546  

__________________
Safe travels!
Wachuko
WBCCI #26769
2018 Airstream Interstate 3500 Lounge EXT Tommy Bahama w/ARS
wachuko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 09:42 AM   #10
Prof. of Pending Projects
 
wachuko's Avatar
 
2018 Tommy Bahama Interstate
Orlando , Florida
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 2,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by PKI View Post
If you know the total load, then you likely found the problem. Happy travels. Pat
Pat, my reply did not come out right...

Thank you for the suggestion. Loads would had been the most common culprit. But I was monitoring amperage and it was not going above 25 amps... that was what had me puzzled...
__________________
Safe travels!
Wachuko
WBCCI #26769
2018 Airstream Interstate 3500 Lounge EXT Tommy Bahama w/ARS
wachuko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 09:47 AM   #11
Prof. of Pending Projects
 
wachuko's Avatar
 
2018 Tommy Bahama Interstate
Orlando , Florida
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 2,306
Well... sure enough... I had made this change when I had it plugged at home... duh!! Forgot to change it back...



Fixed now, let me test

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	5346264C-A1D8-422D-9A0C-59E4915AAC0C.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	267.2 KB
ID:	351547   Click image for larger version

Name:	D5A6657D-E446-44BC-AD09-F9EE1241B43F.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	305.0 KB
ID:	351548  

__________________
Safe travels!
Wachuko
WBCCI #26769
2018 Airstream Interstate 3500 Lounge EXT Tommy Bahama w/ARS
wachuko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 09:58 AM   #12
Prof. of Pending Projects
 
wachuko's Avatar
 
2018 Tommy Bahama Interstate
Orlando , Florida
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 2,306
Service message still shows “Service None”.

Manual does not show how to change this. Page 5-12 has a completely different display...

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	5369BE1F-4474-4643-9212-D4C1FA6CBC10.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	406.3 KB
ID:	351549  
__________________
Safe travels!
Wachuko
WBCCI #26769
2018 Airstream Interstate 3500 Lounge EXT Tommy Bahama w/ARS
wachuko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 10:11 AM   #13
Wannabe RV'er in training
 
Alex AVI's Avatar

 
2018 Interstate Lounge Ext
High Desert , Las Vegas , Nevada
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 2,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by wachuko View Post
Service message still shows “Service None”.

Manual does not show how to change this. Page 5-12 has a completely different display...
WACHUKO - that display on your manual is for the older Minis. I guess they didn't supply you with the Midi manual.

SERVICE NONE means you are not plugged in, whatever the cause ( camp breaker, AI outlet, etc.) you got no shore power. You won't be able to change or get out of that message. Did you check your Progressive EMS if it faulted? You could have an Open Grnd or Open Hot or maybe your power cord connections ?

PS - The Magnum change is independent of the PCS EMS change. The Magnum change is only to limit the currents the charger puts out during the 4-phases when you are on limited amperage. Has no bearing on load shedding of PCS EMS. Don't even pay attention to the Magnum display for this problem. The PCS EMS is the gateway, if it sees no shore power, it won't connect.
Alex AVI is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 10:22 AM   #14
Prof. of Pending Projects
 
wachuko's Avatar
 
2018 Tommy Bahama Interstate
Orlando , Florida
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 2,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex AVI View Post
WACHUKO - that display on your manual is for the older Minis. I guess they didn't supply you with the Midi manual.

SERVICE NONE means you are not plugged in, whatever the cause ( camp breaker, AI outlet, etc.) you got no shore power. You won't be able to change or get out of that message. Did you check your Progressive EMS if it faulted? You could have an Open Grnd or Open Hot or maybe your power cord connections ?

PS - The Magnum change is independent of the PCS EMS change. The Magnum change is only to limit the currents the charger puts out during the 4-phases when you are on limited amperage. Has no bearing on load shedding of PCS EMS.
I travel with all documentation and that manual is not in any of the two doc packages that came with my AI...

Let me remove the Progressive EMS and try again. I am connected to shore power... A/C is on... but display would not change.

Let me plug right into shore power without the Progressive EMS... will report back in a few minutes

Thanks again
__________________
Safe travels!
Wachuko
WBCCI #26769
2018 Airstream Interstate 3500 Lounge EXT Tommy Bahama w/ARS
wachuko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 10:31 AM   #15
Wannabe RV'er in training
 
Alex AVI's Avatar

 
2018 Interstate Lounge Ext
High Desert , Las Vegas , Nevada
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 2,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by wachuko View Post
I travel with all documentation and that manual is not in any of the two doc packages that came with my AI...

Let me remove the Progressive EMS and try again. I am connected to shore power... A/C is on... but display would not change.

Let me plug right into shore power without the Progressive EMS... will report back in a few minutes

Thanks again
WACHUKO - If A/C is on (we talking air conditioning, right?), then there is something wrong with the Precision Circuits EMS coz power is going to the A/C and PCS EMS is not sensing it.
Alex AVI is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 10:34 AM   #16
Prof. of Pending Projects
 
wachuko's Avatar
 
2018 Tommy Bahama Interstate
Orlando , Florida
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 2,306
Even without the Progressive EMS in place is still showing “Service None”
__________________
Safe travels!
Wachuko
WBCCI #26769
2018 Airstream Interstate 3500 Lounge EXT Tommy Bahama w/ARS
wachuko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 10:35 AM   #17
Prof. of Pending Projects
 
wachuko's Avatar
 
2018 Tommy Bahama Interstate
Orlando , Florida
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 2,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex AVI View Post
WACHUKO - If A/C is on (we talking air conditioning, right?), then there is something wrong with the Precision Circuits EMS coz power is going to the A/C and PCS EMS is not sensing it.
Correct. Puzzled by this...
__________________
Safe travels!
Wachuko
WBCCI #26769
2018 Airstream Interstate 3500 Lounge EXT Tommy Bahama w/ARS
wachuko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 10:52 AM   #18
Wannabe RV'er in training
 
Alex AVI's Avatar

 
2018 Interstate Lounge Ext
High Desert , Las Vegas , Nevada
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 2,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by wachuko View Post
Correct. Puzzled by this...
Ok, this is weird. The 2 hots going into your PCS EMS is via Brkrs 4 & 5 ( Inverter and Microwave 20A Brkrs). Your Magnum seems to be getting power. Is your microwave getting power? I was going to say you may have lost your Neutral Wire Through Loop going through the PCS EMS. The Neutral from the ATS (transfer switch) loops around the PCS EMS coil before coming back out to the Neutral buss bar. If you lose that, the EMS thinks you are not connected.
Alex AVI is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 10:57 AM   #19
Wannabe RV'er in training
 
Alex AVI's Avatar

 
2018 Interstate Lounge Ext
High Desert , Las Vegas , Nevada
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 2,460
diagram below - if you lost your Neutral through the Neutral Wire Loop Thru, your return path would be Grnd which could explain why the A/C still works but PCS EMS says No Service
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Annotation 2019-09-07 095540.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	153.0 KB
ID:	351558  
Alex AVI is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2019, 11:01 AM   #20
Prof. of Pending Projects
 
wachuko's Avatar
 
2018 Tommy Bahama Interstate
Orlando , Florida
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 2,306
Everything works... we have been using microwave, Nespresso machine plugged to outlet above stove, A/C, etc. Magnum is working fine as well...

Neutral wire? Any chance you know where (location) that is? I will check as well...

Thank you Alex
__________________

__________________
Safe travels!
Wachuko
WBCCI #26769
2018 Airstream Interstate 3500 Lounge EXT Tommy Bahama w/ARS
wachuko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dometic refrigerator won’t run on shore power& water heater light on when on shore po fotoman1527 General Repair Forum 22 04-10-2018 02:57 PM
No AC Power while on shore power csregan Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 22 08-25-2016 07:10 AM
Air Conditioner tripping breaker in my house while on shore power Wgbarrbevco General Repair Forum 10 08-16-2012 06:07 PM
Charging Battery While Plugged in to Shore Power Kevin245 Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 2 12-29-2007 01:10 PM
Battery drained while on shore power 68International Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 4 07-15-2002 02:51 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
×