Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2014, 02:44 PM   #15
Rivet Master
 
Ron_CA's Avatar
 
2015 Interstate Ext. Coach
San Diego , California
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 665
Quote:
Originally Posted by kscherzi View Post
You could always plug into a cheap timer and set it to charge one hour a day. If it's only about batteries current should be real low.
I am actually leaning in this direction.
__________________

__________________
Ron_CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 03:03 PM   #16
Figment of My Imagination
 
Protagonist's Avatar
 
2012 Interstate Coach
From All Over , More Than Anywhere Else
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by UKDUDE View Post
I cannot answer for the Tripp Lite but believe it has a lower number of stages for charging and may not even have temperature sensor capabilities.
I believe the TrippLite is three-stage without temperature compensation.
__________________

__________________
WBCCI #1105
TAC LA-4

My Google-Fu is strong today.
Protagonist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 04:56 PM   #17
Rivet Master
 
UKDUDE's Avatar
 
2014 Interstate Ext. Coach
Sedona , Arizona
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron_CA View Post
I am actually leaning in this direction.
Another relatively cheap and quick alternative is to get a smart battery charger that has the same features as a Magnum. I bought a CTEK Multi US 7002 in error before realizing the Magnum could be left plugged into shore power. And it has a temperature sensor.
__________________
UKDUDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 04:59 PM   #18
Rivet Master
 
DaveFL's Avatar
 
2000 31' Land Yacht
Central , Florida
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,479
Images: 15
Confidence in the grid should be part of the equation, here in FL the lightning capitol of the US it is better to pull the plug. Power surges are not unusual either, someone suggested a timer but if it is long term parking, a battery minder on the timer would be a better option, plugged in it will keep the batteries charged and maintained.
__________________
DaveFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 06:39 PM   #19
4 Rivet Member
 
2011 Interstate Coach
Muskogee , Oklahoma
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 452
The 2015 models have the Magnum Inverter/charger.

The temperature sensor monitors the temperature to better tune the amount of voltage based on the temperature. But the main difference between the two is the Magnum won't overcharge the batteries-the Tripplite definitely will.

The Magnum is a "smart" charger. It shuts off all current when the batteries and fully charged, and then turns on when they are less than fully charged.

Leave it plugged in if you have a Magnum. If you have a Triplitte, don't. Rather, turn it on until a full charge is reached, and then unplug it.

You can add a battery temperature sensor for about 30 bucks. You can also upgrade to a better monitor and battery monitor kit. It's fun to click on the LPG valve for instance, and immediately see that you just upped the load by .6 of an amp. Or see just how ineffective the stock solar panel really is.

Finally, if you have the Tripplite, consider upgrading to the Magnum. It's worth every cent.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aa9zz View Post
What, then, makes the Magnum different from the Tripp Lite if neither have a working temperature sensor as installed in the Airstream?
__________________
2011 Interstate WD/Lounge
gmillerok1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 07:11 PM   #20
3 Rivet Member
 
2005 16' International CCD
2015 Interstate Coach
Bandon , Oregon
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 103
We have some wild winter weather here in the Northwest including power outages and electrical spikes.

We kept our Airstream trailer connected 24/7/365 and plan to do the same with our new AI.

We leave a small table-top dehumidifier and heater (on low) to draw on the battery just a bit. In 9 years, we've never had a battery problem with the trailer. Don't expect one with the AI.
__________________
Rapa Nui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 08:28 PM   #21
3 Rivet Member
 
2006 22' Interstate
Sebastopol , California
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 157
I don't have 30amp service where I park my AI but I do have power. I purchased a C-tek multi stage charger and keep plugged in to a wet cell 24/7 when not traveling. This is a reasonable solution as I have total and continual use of my DC system at home . I've recently been experimenting with a 100w solar suitcase which appears to do an adequate job and stores reasonably well beneath the couch.
__________________
Sebtown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 11:46 AM   #22
Rivet Master
 
Boxster1971's Avatar

 
2013 Interstate Coach
Fulton , Maryland
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,265
If you are just charging batteries a 15/20 Amp adapter for your power cord will allow you to plug into a standard 15/20 Amp receptacle. I can run everything except AC with this adapter.


- - Mike
2013 AS Interstate on 2012 MB Sprinter
__________________
- - Mike
--------------------------
2013 Airstream Interstate Lounge EXT
Boxster1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 06:42 PM   #23
3 Rivet Member
 
2006 22' Interstate
Sebastopol , California
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 157
I considered using my adapter and factory shore cord but I prefer the c-tek charging profiles including the programmable reconditioning mode to desulfate the wet cell on occasion.
__________________
Sebtown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 10:59 PM   #24
4 Rivet Member
 
David M's Avatar
 
2013 Interstate Coach
Orange County , California
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boxster1971 View Post
If you are just charging batteries a 15/20 Amp adapter for your power cord will allow you to plug into a standard 15/20 Amp receptacle. I can run everything except AC with this adapter.


- - Mike
2013 AS Interstate on 2012 MB Sprinter

Hey Mike,
I don't understand. I can run my AC using a 20 amp adapter. I also have a 2013 AI on a 2012 chassis. Am I missing something?
David
__________________
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 11:09 PM   #25
Figment of My Imagination
 
Protagonist's Avatar
 
2012 Interstate Coach
From All Over , More Than Anywhere Else
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by David M View Post
Hey Mike,
I don't understand. I can run my AC using a 20 amp adapter. I also have a 2013 AI on a 2012 chassis. Am I missing something?
David
I think I understand. You can run your AC. Or you can run everything else. But you can't run your AC with everything else.
__________________
WBCCI #1105
TAC LA-4

My Google-Fu is strong today.
Protagonist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 11:39 PM   #26
4 Rivet Member
 
David M's Avatar
 
2013 Interstate Coach
Orange County , California
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 277
Thanks Protagonist, that makes sense.
David
__________________
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 08:35 AM   #27
BikerBill
 
2014 Interstate Ext. Coach
Poconos of Pa , Pennsylvania
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 239
Using a home 20 amp outlet will work for your AC but not the m-wave at the same time. Think of it like this. A normal window AC in your home plugs into a wall outlet but you wouldn't plug in your m-wave to the same outlet in your house and use them at the same time. If you did, pop the circuit breaker. Same thing applies to your 20 amp outlet for your AI. Now plug it into a 30 amp outlet, that's a different story but most people don't have a 30 amp outlet at their home.

Your 3 biggest amperage draws are the AC, the m-wave, the water heater on electric and your Magnum inverter/charge may draw 7 amps on charge mode. So plan accordingly how to use your 20 amps when plugged into your home outlet.
__________________
Bikerbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 10:43 AM   #28
Rivet Master
 
UKDUDE's Avatar
 
2014 Interstate Ext. Coach
Sedona , Arizona
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,038
Actually the same considerations apply when you run the generator: you have just 20 amps available.


Sent from my iPad using Airstream Forums
__________________

__________________
UKDUDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fresh water tank filling when connected to shore water redzebra Fresh Water Systems 7 12-20-2013 03:52 PM
Battery charging when connected to shore power. Wingeezer Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 3 07-15-2011 11:12 AM
No 110 power connected to shore bonginator Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 3 06-25-2010 08:53 PM
Battery at 45% even though connected to shore power SilverGate Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 27 04-17-2009 05:35 PM
TV connected & on shore power? Kistler Audio, Video & TV 4 04-03-2004 06:12 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.