Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > Sprinter and B-van Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-29-2011, 10:44 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2011 Interstate Coach
Houston , Texas
Interstate checklist

I am picking up my new 2011 Mercedes Interstate next week and am beginning to make a checklist since I am not mechanical at all. I am a pilot and have found using checklists very helpful. I thought I would make one for basic startup before a trip, breaking camp, one for use before I store it short term and long etc... Has anyone done the same?
Brentsouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 12:02 PM   #2
Wise Elder

2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
For RVs, I have found the problem with checklists to be that the order in which things are done and indeed exactly what the right thing is to do to vary from one trip to the next.

I take more of a walk-around approach and also try to maintain my rig in a constant state of readiness by never removing tools, equipment, or supplies.
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 06:37 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1995 30' Excella
Bowie , Maryland
I have a checklist for 'consumable' supplies. This includes obviously perishable things that get removed after each trip, but it also includes checking to make sure I have enough paper plates and napkins in the camper, too. I print it out a week or so ahead of a trip, then cross things off after I verify it's okay. I have sections of things that I don't need for some trips (for example, for winter trips, I usually take an electric heater but obviously I don't need that in August), and I just cross them out.

Otherwise, it's pretty much a walk-around like Jammer said.