Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2014, 07:59 PM   #1
New Member
 
2004 22' Interstate
mercer island , Washington
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
interstate airstream winter cover

I have a 2004/2005 Airstream Interstate (Sprinter) and want a high quality winter cover that fits well. Any ideas ?
__________________

__________________
brucewaddell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2014, 08:29 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
Boxster1971's Avatar

 
2013 Interstate Coach
Fulton , Maryland
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,258
We have discussed the covers on this forum in the recent past and as I recall the consensus was they were of no real use, difficult to install and would likely damage the paint on your Interstate.
__________________

__________________
- - Mike
--------------------------
2013 Airstream Interstate Lounge EXT
Boxster1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 05:40 AM   #3
Rivet Master
 
Lily&Me's Avatar

 
2006 22' Interstate
Normal , Illinois
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13,551
We bought one for ours, and they are not inexpensive.

Seemed like a good idea at the time, but they are very difficult to keep in place if you have any winds to contend with. Whipping and blowing winds will take it right off.

The casualty on our Interstate, from the ever-shifting cover, was the AIRSTREAM lettering across the front. Pieces of several letters broke off, and the whole thing had to be replaced.

Also, if you have snow/sleet on your roof that melts and refreezes, this turns into a thick block of ice that is very difficult to remove so that you can take the cover off, if you are planning on leaving before the spring thaw.

The cover might be good just for dust, if your Interstate were otherwise in a covered area, but expensive for just that, IMO.


Maggie
__________________
🏡 🚐 Cherish and appreciate those you love. This moment could be your last.🌹🐚❤️
Lily&Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 09:15 AM   #4
3 Rivet Member
 
2005 22' Interstate
Pittsburgh , Pennsylvania
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by doug&maggie View Post
The casualty on our Interstate, from the ever-shifting cover, was the AIRSTREAM lettering across the front. Pieces of several letters broke off, and the whole thing had to be replaced.
Naah. Those letters came off of ours after a few years, and we have NEVER used a cover of any kind. Ended up having the residue professionally removed.

Just standard Airstream adhesive dyslexia.
__________________
avanti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 09:19 AM   #5
Rivet Master
 
SmokelessJoe's Avatar
 
1976 Argosy 24
now being enjoyed by Heath and Mary in , Vermont
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,422
The best winter cover for an Airstream or an INTERSTATE is a barn or shed.
__________________
Sergei
SmokelessJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 09:29 AM   #6
BikerBill
 
2014 Interstate Ext. Coach
Poconos of Pa , Pennsylvania
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 239
If you have the space, there are portable structures of thin steel tubing or plastic tubing that you then cover with a heavy plastic. They are portable garages. That would be the only thing I would park my Interstate in if I did not have a garage. Fortunately we have a large garage that is heated ion the winter and conditioned in summer and has a dump location, water and 540 amps.
__________________
Bikerbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 10:54 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
Lily&Me's Avatar

 
2006 22' Interstate
Normal , Illinois
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by avanti View Post
Naah. Those letters came off of ours after a few years, and we have NEVER used a cover of any kind. Ended up having the residue professionally removed.

Just standard Airstream adhesive dyslexia.
Hmmm, we have not had a problem with ours, other than when we were using a cover, and like having AIRSTREAM across the front.

Love that you are an 05. We're the lucky ones, in terms of our engines.


Maggie
__________________
🏡 🚐 Cherish and appreciate those you love. This moment could be your last.🌹🐚❤️
Lily&Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 12:45 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
UKDUDE's Avatar
 
2014 Interstate Ext. Coach
Sedona , Arizona
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,037
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bikerbill View Post
....and 540 amps.
Bill, please explain. I thought home amps from a standard outlet are 30. What do you have there?
Peter
__________________
UKDUDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 03:13 PM   #9
Newbie
 
joemikeb's Avatar
 
2013 Interstate Coach
Fort Worth , Texas
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by UKDUDE View Post
Bill, please explain. I thought home amps from a standard outlet are 30. What do you have there?
Peter
FYI the world standard Type A outlet found in homes are only rated for 15 Amps at 120 Volts. You might find a circuit in your home with Type A outlets and a 20 Amp breaker, but it is a violation of electrical standards and a fire waiting to ignite should you ever try to pull a 20 Amp load through it. Thirty Amp 120 V circuits should have some sort of appliance outlet. In the accompanying photo of a campground outlet the 15 Amp type A outlet is on the right and the 30 Amp outlet is on the left. In order to get 30 Amp service for my AI at our house, I had to have a dedicated 30 Amp breaker installed in the circuit breaker panel and a dedicated circuit run to the outlet.

I too am curious about the 540 Amps, most homes are wired for no more than 200 total Amps
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SitePower.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	16.7 KB
ID:	215019  
__________________
Make errors ó otherwise the Great Spirit realizes
you have finished your purpose on earth.

ó Navajo saying
joemikeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 03:32 PM   #10
3 Rivet Member
 
2005 22' Interstate
Pittsburgh , Pennsylvania
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by joemikeb View Post
You might find a circuit in your home with Type A outlets and a 20 Amp breaker, but it is a violation of electrical standards and a fire waiting to ignite should you ever try to pull a 20 Amp load through it.
I don't believe that this is correct. As I understand it, it is fine to put a 15 amp outlet on a 20amp circuit (assuming the wire is properly sized for 20 amp. The reason this is OK is that 15 amp outlets *can't* draw 20 amps, because the plugs of 20 amp loads have one of the prongs turned at right angles, so it will not fit into a 15 amp outlet. 20 amp outlets have an extra notch to accommodate the rotated plug prong.

(not to go off topic or anything.)
__________________
avanti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 03:33 PM   #11
Figment of My Imagination
 
Protagonist's Avatar
 
2012 Interstate Coach
From All Over , More Than Anywhere Else
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by doug&maggie View Post
The cover might be good just for dust, if your Interstate were otherwise in a covered area, but expensive for just that, IMO.
Actually, still not a good idea. Cover plus dust means that any dust that does manage to get under the cover turns the cover into fine-grit sandpaper.

In a wetter climate, a cover impedes ventilation, and leads to mold.
__________________
WBCCI #1105
TAC LA-4

My Google-Fu is strong today.
Protagonist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 03:46 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
SmokelessJoe's Avatar
 
1976 Argosy 24
now being enjoyed by Heath and Mary in , Vermont
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,422
It may vary from place to place but Joemikes point is the Electrical Code law in ONTARIO.
__________________
Sergei
SmokelessJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 04:14 PM   #13
Rivet Master
 
UKDUDE's Avatar
 
2014 Interstate Ext. Coach
Sedona , Arizona
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,037
Quote:
Originally Posted by avanti View Post
The reason this is OK is that 15 amp outlets *can't* draw 20 amps, because the plugs of 20 amp loads have one of the prongs turned at right angles, so it will not fit into a 15 amp outlet. 20 amp outlets have an extra notch to accommodate the rotated plug prong.
I'm also sorry to be completely off topic here, but I'm afraid I may be doing something very stupid and dangerous:
I have a Camco PowerGrip adapter that I use to plug the Interstate into a standard house socket in the garage. The PCI display panel then displays 30 Amps. I don't use any appliances in the Interstate while plugged in - it's just to keep the batteries maintained.
Are you saying this is not recommended?
__________________
UKDUDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 04:19 PM   #14
Newbie
 
joemikeb's Avatar
 
2013 Interstate Coach
Fort Worth , Texas
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by avanti View Post
I don't believe that this is correct. As I understand it, it is fine to put a 15 amp outlet on a 20amp circuit (assuming the wire is properly sized for 20 amp. The reason this is OK is that 15 amp outlets *can't* draw 20 amps, because the plugs of 20 amp loads have one of the prongs turned at right angles, so it will not fit into a 15 amp outlet. 20 amp outlets have an extra notch to accommodate the rotated plug prong.

(not to go off topic or anything.)
Lets say you put a duplex or triplex outlet adaptor on your 15 Amp outlet, (they are readily available at any hardware store) and then plug a 10 Amp device into two of the outlets and turn them on. You are now drawing 20 Amps through a plug designed to handle no more than 15 Amps. The circuit breaker will not pop because you have not exceeded the load on the breaker. Several minutes later you will find the 15 Amp outlet is very hot. Maybe even hot enough to cause surrounding materials to reach ignition temperature. A 15 Amp outlet should be on a 15 Amp breaker. The breaker may never blow until the insulation on the wiring melts in the ensuing fire.
__________________

__________________
Make errors ó otherwise the Great Spirit realizes
you have finished your purpose on earth.

ó Navajo saying
joemikeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
winter cover for my 2004 airstream sprinter brucewaddell Member Introductions 1 06-26-2014 05:26 PM
Winter Cover- 2006 Classic ITowSilver 2006 - 2010 Classic (all lengths) 7 03-22-2006 09:16 PM
Winter? What winter??? Pahaska Off Topic Forum 21 01-06-2006 10:17 AM
Cover for Winter danesh Our Community 5 11-28-2005 02:56 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.