Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > Sprinter and B-van Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-03-2015, 08:45 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2014 Interstate Ext. Coach
Melville , New York
Exclamation Engine Light - DEF sensor

Hi Fellow Interstate/Sprinter Airstreamers: I am new to site and appreciate all the benefits I have received from all of you. I feel welcome and as a new owner right at home. My last few trips have been from home in NY - LongIsland to Indiana. I have had a recurring problem with engine light illuminated then 10 Starts Left message on my display. I don't know is anyone has had this issue yet but it goes further than topping off the DEF in the MB diesel engine.
1. Rolled into Gurley Leep - MB dealer in Mishawaka (South Bend) Indiana area
2. As indicated above engine light illuminated with 10 starts left.
3. Topped off DEF as it was low and reset on tech computer at MB dealer.
note: I discovered new vehicles delivered have MINIMAL DEF inside as they prep.
4. After reset drove home and after 250 miles engine light came on again and same as above happened. YES Frustrating
5. Brought into MB dealer on Long Island and reset and topped off again - nothing on tech computer showed any issue.
6. Next trip to Indiana last week and guess what? Happened again.
7. Yes, equally frustrated once again.
8. MB dealer in Indiana said this has been a significant problem with Sprinters and MB engineers in corporate have not figured out as yet.
9. Indicated they had 80% success rate in changing NOX sensors
10. Gurley Leep could not have been nicer. They troubleshooted problem and lent me a MB SUV to use while there.
11. Now back on Long Island and utilized 6 of the 10 starts allowed to get me back home.