Old 05-03-2015, 12:39 PM   #1

Electrical disconnect

Hello,
We purchased a new interstate last July and I am still learning how the electrical system works. My one question I have is that when the red electrical knob under the back seat is turned to the on position the power to the back is all on and the power switch by the sliding side door remains on in both positions. But if I position the red electrical knob to the off position or turned to the left the switch by the side door shuts the back off like it is intended to function. Does this seem correct? I would think if the red knob is switched to off all systems should be off. This is with the shore electrical not hooked up.

Thanks
Peter

Old 05-03-2015, 12:54 PM   #2
Figment of My Imagination

2012 Interstate Coach
From All Over , More Than Anywhere Else
Quote:
Originally Posted by donzi222 View Post
Hello,
We purchased a new interstate last July and I am still learning how the electrical system works. My one question I have is that when the red electrical knob under the back seat is turned to the on position the power to the back is all on and the power switch by the sliding side door remains on in both positions. But if I position the red electrical knob to the off position or turned to the left the switch by the side door shuts the back off like it is intended to function. Does this seem correct? I would think if the red knob is switched to off all systems should be off. This is with the shore electrical not hooked up.
Welcome to the AirForums! And welcome to the exalted ranks of Airstream Interstate owners!

Your Interstate actually has two 12v disconnects for the house batteries. The one in the rear is the main one. The one by the side door is a remote. The sole function of the remote switch is to turn the main switch on and off. If everything is working properly, you should be able to use only the one by the door and forget about the other.