Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > Sprinter and B-van Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-07-2018, 02:39 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2017 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Denver , Colorado
Dead battery when it sits

I am very new to this. When my 2017 Int. sits for 3 days the chassis battery is dead (eg. 6 v. won't open the doors). I have made sure the radio etc is off. The dealer says no unusual draw and the charging system and battery are ok. This just isn't right. Any ideas are very much appreciated. Thanks.
Mobey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 03:58 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

2017 Interstate Lounge Ext
Plano , Texas
So something is drawing down the Chassis battery. Is the house battery staying charged?

I also have 2017. Never had issue with chassis battery but some have reported some fusion wiring issues. I have ran down house batteries but I left fan/fridge/propane switch on.
Tobbun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 04:20 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Can you disconnect the battery, remove the negative cable, from the rig and charge it over night? If so disconnect the charger in the am and test the voltage later that day. If the battery is good you shouldn't see a voltage drop of more than a 1/10 volt or so.

Get a cheap, Pep Boys hydrometer and check each battery cell just after the charge. They should all be the same.

If the stand alone battery will hold a charge touch the negative cable to the battery post a watch for the spark. The size of the spark will give you an idea of the back ground current draw.

I suspect the battery is bad if it has been discharged below 9 volts a few times.