Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > Sprinter and B-van Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-27-2013, 09:17 PM   #1
MeandMB

2014 Interstate Ext. Coach
Selbyville , Delaware
Confused

I'm not very technical and need help understanding how to interpret the readings from the inverter/converter box? Purchased the van Oct 30, 2013 and still can't tell if my solar charger is working or not. We use the van daily and batteries always read at a 100% charge. Have never plugged the van into any household current but did take it on a long maiden trip of apps. 1500 miles using land line hookups with no problems. Can't shake the feeling i'm missing something. Airstream handbook sucks and can't figure out how to read the damn manuals provided by the manufacturers. Thanks in advance.
MeandMB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2013, 03:12 AM   #2
Figment of My Imagination

2012 Interstate Coach
From All Over , More Than Anywhere Else
If you use the van daily, the display should read 100% all the time. Your house batteries never have a chance to get depleted because rather than being charged by the solar panel, they're being charged by the alternator as you drive, thanks to the Battery Isolation Module (BIM).
Old 11-28-2013, 08:38 AM   #3
BikerBill

Poconos of Pa , Pennsylvania
I have a new 2014/13 bought in October. At our home its always plugged in and then the solar control reads out 100%. But when we drive all day in sunlight and dry-camp for the night, usually it starts out at about 85% and by morning its at 50%. So I sent off a question to AI. Here is their answer: