Old 09-13-2015, 03:09 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2011 Avenue Coach
Carrollton , Texas
Avenue Class B Van House battery problems

I am a newbie and battery-knowledge-handicapped. I have a used Airstream Avenue B (Class B van), year 2011 built on a Chevy 3500 body. I don't know how to properly charge the house batteries, short of starting the engine and driving for 1 hour with the house battery dial/switch turned on! I am never really sure when to flip the inverter switch to "on or off" during the various scenarios of use: when I am going down the road trying to charge the house battery, when I am parked at home plugged in or parked at home not plugged in, or parked at a park with 30 amp service. Help! Also when I am plugged in to my garage to get the frig going, since my house battery is always low, that is not 30 amp service, just what is coming from a regular outdoor outlet. Please advise what to do.Please tell me how to get the house battery fully charged and keep it charged so I can use the van without being plugged in for minor things, like loading and unloading, getting the frig to get cold the morning I am loading to take off for a trip. I can't figure out what is draining that house battery when it is parked. I though I have everything turned off (house battery off, all light switches off, and inverter off) (usually goes 3-4 weeks between use).
Thanks!
TexasGal

Old 09-14-2015, 08:05 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2006 22' Interstate
League City , Texas
Hi, TexasGal! The Avenue is something we all probably know a bit less about - I didn't even know there was such a thing until I spotted one on the road near my house a few months ago (URL here for those who are not familiar with it... Air Forums is having itself a cranky Monday morning right now and will not allow photo attachments).

Imgur: The most awesome images on the Internet

A few questions might help get your issues constrained:

-- One or two house batteries?