Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2014, 11:29 PM   #85
Rivet Master
 
Boxster1971's Avatar

 
2013 Interstate Coach
Fulton , Maryland
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by UKDUDE View Post
Since TPMS is mandatory on the 2500 Sprinters, does anyone know if that display technology is there under the covers on the 3500's? Would be very convenient if it could be enabled via an ECU tweak at the dealer, so the standard display could be used. Assuming it can handle 6 tires of course.
It's probably there -- but I doubt you could get to it. This type of change is way beyond any dealer capability. It would require modifications by Sprinter Engineering. It would be nice if Mercedes offered it as an option since it is not required by US DOT.
__________________

__________________
- - Mike
--------------------------
2013 Airstream Interstate Lounge EXT
Boxster1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 12:09 AM   #86
Rivet Master
 
73shark's Avatar
 
2011 Interstate Coach
Overland Park , Kansas
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by UKDUDE View Post
Cap sensors can't be used with the Sprinter system?
Highly unlikely.
__________________

__________________
Glass half full or half empty to an engineer is the glass is twice as big as it needs to be.

PM me for sale info on my 2011. SOLD!
Upfitted Transit 350 sitting in driveway.
73shark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 02:52 PM   #87
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
Ravenna , Ohio
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATE123 View Post
I was wondering if I'm a complete idiot for not spending $320.00 on tire minders for my Interstate. Are they worth it and do they work well? Thanks in advance for any feedback!
$320 for 6 sensors & display is about $30 above "Street price"
__________________
Retired tire engineer (40 years). Write a blog on RV tires.
Tireman9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 02:54 PM   #88
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
Ravenna , Ohio
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by UKDUDE View Post
Since TPMS is mandatory on the 2500 Sprinters, does anyone know if that display technology is there under the covers on the 3500's? Would be very convenient if it could be enabled via an ECU tweak at the dealer, so the standard display could be used. Assuming it can handle 6 tires of course.
TPMS are only required for vehicles with GVWR of 10,000# and under.
__________________
Retired tire engineer (40 years). Write a blog on RV tires.
Tireman9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 02:56 PM   #89
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
Ravenna , Ohio
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by 73shark View Post
Highly unlikely.
For my education why can't cap sensors be used on Sprinter chassis vehicles?

Do the hub caps cover the valve cap?
__________________
Retired tire engineer (40 years). Write a blog on RV tires.
Tireman9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 03:02 PM   #90
Rivet Master
 
UKDUDE's Avatar
 
2014 Interstate Ext. Coach
Sedona , Arizona
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tireman9 View Post
For my education why can't cap sensors be used on Sprinter chassis vehicles?

Do the hub caps cover the valve cap?
I have to chip in here since my original question was whether cap sensors could interface with the possibly hidden tire pressure display system on 3500's.
And our Airstream Interstates have a combination of Alcoa outer and steel inner wheels. So no hub caps.
__________________
UKDUDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 03:13 PM   #91
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
Ravenna , Ohio
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 690
To the na-sayers I would ask if the trucks they drove had exposed holding tanks or pretty aluminum skirting that would be damaged if a tire failed?

While TPMS may not prevent 100% of tire failures it only has to work once to pay for itself.

If you get the slow leak and receive warning before 20% of the air has leaked out there is a good chance you may not need to buy a replacement tire.

I have seen groups of drivers that swear by "thumpers" fail to be able to demonstrate being closer than +/- 20% of the actual air pressure. With many RVs having only 5 or 10 psi safety margin that isn't close enough.

Just like insurance, you never "need" it till it is too late.
__________________
Retired tire engineer (40 years). Write a blog on RV tires.
Tireman9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 08:44 PM   #92
Rivet Master
 
73shark's Avatar
 
2011 Interstate Coach
Overland Park , Kansas
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tireman9 View Post
For my education why can't cap sensors be used on Sprinter chassis vehicles?

Do the hub caps cover the valve cap?

Cap sensors can be used on a Sprinter. They just probably wouldn't work w/ the embedded Sprinter TPMS even if it is there and could be accessed. And as boxster1971 posted, that would not be easy. And even if MB did offer TPMS as an option, Airstream would have to find sensors that work w/ both it and the Alcoa wheels.
__________________
Glass half full or half empty to an engineer is the glass is twice as big as it needs to be.

PM me for sale info on my 2011. SOLD!
Upfitted Transit 350 sitting in driveway.
73shark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 01:41 PM   #93
2 Rivet Member
 
paullovern's Avatar
 
2013 Interstate Coach
arlington heights , Illinois
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 53
It took a lot of tweaking but I finally got my tire minders to work without false alarms. They seem to work pretty well now. They caught a slow leak situation before it got critical.
__________________
Paul & Doris
paullovern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 10:22 PM   #94
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
Ravenna , Ohio
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by UKDUDE View Post
I have to chip in here since my original question was whether cap sensors could interface with the possibly hidden tire pressure display system on 3500's.
And our Airstream Interstates have a combination of Alcoa outer and steel inner wheels. So no hub caps.
When you turn on the ignition do you see the TPM graphic on the instrument panel? I am guessing not which would mean there is no OE TPM system. I see no reason for a vehicle MFG to put sensors in wheels when there is no system in the vehicle.

Did anyone specifically tell you you had a TPM system on the vehicle?
Did anyone specifically tell you the "cap" type aftermarket TPMS would not work? or was it just your concern about electrical "interference"?

PM me if you need or want more details on TPMS.
__________________
Retired tire engineer (40 years). Write a blog on RV tires.
Tireman9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 10:26 PM   #95
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
Ravenna , Ohio
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by paullovern View Post
It took a lot of tweaking but I finally got my tire minders to work without false alarms. They seem to work pretty well now. They caught a slow leak situation before it got critical.
Glad your TPMS worked for you. Sounds like it saved the cost of a new tire. Bet that goes a long way toward paying for the cost of the "insurance" of having a TPMS given they are good for years of use and can be transferred to your next vehicle.

What was the "tweaking" you needed to do?

PM me if you don't want to post all the details. I am interested in learning about others experiences.
__________________
Retired tire engineer (40 years). Write a blog on RV tires.
Tireman9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 08:38 AM   #96
TinCan
 
graysailor's Avatar

 
2016 30' Classic
Apache Junction , Arizona
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 798
TireMinder seems to be working. The problem I am having now is that the Minder tells me I have 36.5lbs of pressure but I checked the tires and all four have 40lbs. of pressure. I changed the batteries with the same results. The trailer tire pressures are still accurate. Just not sure how to adjust the TV so that it will be more accurate. Difficult system to set up and adjust.
__________________
TinCan
graysailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 11:49 AM   #97
Rivet Master
 
UKDUDE's Avatar
 
2014 Interstate Ext. Coach
Sedona , Arizona
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tireman9 View Post
When you turn on the ignition do you see the TPM graphic on the instrument panel? I am guessing not which would mean there is no OE TPM system. I see no reason for a vehicle MFG to put sensors in wheels when there is no system in the vehicle.

Did anyone specifically tell you you had a TPM system on the vehicle?
Did anyone specifically tell you the "cap" type aftermarket TPMS would not work? or was it just your concern about electrical "interference"?

PM me if you need or want more details on TPMS.
There's no TPMS indicator, either as a warning sign, or on the pageable displays. I was hoping the monitor and appropriate software would have been installed, just disabled for the 3500's. I will be getting a cap system, just wasn't so keen on a monitor that's not integrated into the dash.
__________________
UKDUDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 05:39 PM   #98
2 Rivet Member
 
paullovern's Avatar
 
2013 Interstate Coach
arlington heights , Illinois
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 53
Tireman2: we bought the AI used with the to reminders already on. I was getting an inordinate amount of false alarms to the point that I didn't believe it when it alarmed. I was getting pressures of 82 psi and an hour later 58 psi on the same tire. I replaced 3 of the 6 and changed all the sensor batteries. I then bought a truckers pressure gauge and meticulously set the cold temp pressure to 60 psi on all tires. Now I get no alarms and my confidence in the system is returning.
__________________

__________________
Paul & Doris
paullovern is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice needed, and perhaps a tip or two. Curtis-79MH Airstream Motorhome Forums 12 06-26-2007 02:43 PM
HELP PART NEEDED! Aluminum Termination Cap... InsideOut Waste Systems, Tanks & Totes 46 03-20-2006 07:08 AM
Help!! Refrigerator Access Door Needed! Melissa Hamilton Exterior Storage Compartments & Access Doors 13 01-19-2004 05:03 PM
Organization Experts Needed! Andy R Forum Admin, News and Member Account Info 7 04-10-2003 07:53 PM
Propane Tanks - New OPD Needed? montanaandy LP Gas, Piping, Tanks & Regulators 18 06-17-2002 01:11 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.