Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2011, 10:26 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
2011 Interstate Coach
Currently Looking...
Muskogee , Oklahoma
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 13
2010-2011 Aux/MP3 cable connection

I obtained the optional cable to add the Aux/MP3 port to the premium radio in my 2011 Interstate, but can't figure out where it goes. I removed the radio, but there is no free jack or port on the back that I can see where it would go.

Does anyone have any idea how to hook up to the radio? In other words, where does it go? I know I will still have to take it to the dealer to get the computer to recognize it, but the Sprinter tech estimated a "couple of hours" to do the install, and at $100 per hour, I was trying to save some and do it myself.

GM
__________________

__________________
gmilleroik1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 09:42 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
wayneskid's Avatar

 
2010 22' Interstate
Anchorage , Alaska
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 515
Images: 1
Gerald,
There are lots of informative threads on this topic on the Sprinter - Sprinter-Forum While you're there look in the NCV3 Write-Ups section too.
Wayne
__________________

__________________
- wayne
2010 Interstate 3500 Twin Bed
(2008 Freightliner CRD Sprinter)
AIR #44779
TAC AK-1 !!
wayneskid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 09:48 AM   #3
Rivet Master
 
Currently Looking...
Nowhere , Somewhere
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,417
Blog Entries: 2
On our 05 we had to unplug the cd player and put the new plug there. Best Buy had the cables and knew right what we needed. jim
__________________
avionstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 09:50 AM   #4
Rivet Master
 
Currently Looking...
Nowhere , Somewhere
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,417
Blog Entries: 2
That was in our Interstate. jim
__________________
avionstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 09:06 AM   #5
1 Rivet Member
 
2011 Interstate Coach
Currently Looking...
Muskogee , Oklahoma
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 13
Aux/MP3 Cable

I finally gave up and took it to a dealer.

After fours hours of trying, he couldn't get it to work. At first he argued that he didn't need to make any changes on the computer to authorize it. Wrong. He did.

But then, it still wouldn't work. Turns out after a call to MB tech, there are different types of Sound 20 radio's they use. The one in most Sprinters looks exactly the same as the one in mine, but the one they used in mine is the same one they use in passenger cars, so the cable didn't work that the very instructions MB provides to the tech called for.

So, he ordered the right cable this time. The good news is now I know where it goes. While the instructions don't specify you have to remove a plug and replace it with the new cable, that's what you do. Hence, there is no "free" plug that is used. I will post the part number when it comes in next week.

Thanks for all the replies to my inquiry. My advice is to anyone else, give them your VIN and tell them to verify what cable is used because of this issue. Tell them to call and verify it with MB tech support or you will be in the same boat I was and waste a day of your time.

GM
__________________
gmilleroik1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 08:00 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
wayneskid's Avatar

 
2010 22' Interstate
Anchorage , Alaska
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 515
Images: 1
Gerald,

I hope you will post an update when you get your new cable connected. Also, this would be good information to post on the Sprinter-Forum.

Thanks,
Wayne
__________________
- wayne
2010 Interstate 3500 Twin Bed
(2008 Freightliner CRD Sprinter)
AIR #44779
TAC AK-1 !!
wayneskid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 11:22 AM   #7
1 Rivet Member
 
2011 Interstate Coach
Currently Looking...
Muskogee , Oklahoma
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 13
Aux/MP3 Cable

I just got it installed this morning, and yes, it worked! I will do a full write-up with pics of the install this weekend and post it on the Sprinter forum.

Gerald

Quote:
Originally Posted by wayneskid View Post
Gerald,

I hope you will post an update when you get your new cable connected. Also, this would be good information to post on the Sprinter-Forum.

Thanks,
Wayne
__________________
gmilleroik1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 08:42 PM   #8
3 Rivet Member
 
2011 Interstate Coach
Tulsa , Oklahoma
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 132
Aux. Cable

Please post link to your IPOD/Aux. cable installation. I can not seem to locate it.
Thanks ahead of time.
__________________
Road Jager
Living On Tulsa Time
RoadJager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 03:45 PM   #9
3 Rivet Member
 
2011 Interstate Coach
Tulsa , Oklahoma
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 132
Thanks Gerald and it was good talking with you.
Road Jager
__________________

__________________
Road Jager
Living On Tulsa Time
RoadJager is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cable install.. JKnight General Appliance Topics 2 02-23-2011 07:10 PM
Breakaway cable length? oceantribe Brakes & Brake Controllers 12 01-10-2011 05:18 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.