Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Airstream Lifestyle > The Pet Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-14-2019, 10:05 AM   #21
Rivet Master

2014 25' Flying Cloud
Cuddebackville , New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by LilBigfoot View Post
Interesting article on AS Addicts..

Very Important for all dog owners

BENADRYL FOR SNAKE BITES

This article was written by a veterinarian of the United Waterfowlers Forum.

"First, let me say that I have been a vet for 23 years in N Florida. We treat probably an average of 15 snake bites a year. ............... in a car accident to get there, but do not stop at the dry cleaners on the way either. Proceed with due haste."

;
I saw this too but wanted to verify its accuracy before sharing it. Looks like it is.
Old 05-14-2019, 10:06 AM   #22
Rivet Master

2014 25' Flying Cloud
Cuddebackville , New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry C View Post
Simple solution here, carry a handgun of .357 or larger, loaded with shotshells....very effective!
Eastern Timber Rattlers are protected here. As they should be.
Old 05-15-2019, 10:03 AM   #23
Rivet Master

2007 Interstate
Normal , Illinois
I was able to speak today with one of the vets at the Clinic we use, who knows nothing about snake bite vaccine....has never given it, nor treated a dog bit by a snake.

They need a shot, then another in 30 days, and we will be on the road in a couple of weeks, so it is almost a moot issue but I wanted to hear what they had to say.

He recommended talking with a vet in the area where snakes are present, also to carry the liquid Benadryl and give her the recommended dose as an emergency measure.

I’m going to do that, then do some research once we are west and get the local scoop on these vaccines out there.