Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-21-2017, 10:32 AM   #1

Currently Looking...
Bloomington , New York
X-Terra 2008 adequate for towing?

Hi everybody,

First up I am new to anything airstream and this forum. Interested in purchasing a Safari SE from 2007, or similar. I am wondering if my Nissan X-Terra will be able to tow this kind of rig.
Does anybody have experience with this car for towing? Is there a place, except the car dealer, to go to to get the right setup?
It seems that there is a lot of technical numbers and setups that need to be considered and figured out. Any advise on what threads to look at would be very helpful indeed. With anything new in the beginning it always seems a bit overwhelming to educate myself.

Thank you all for any advise. Happy camping,
Mario
project m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2017, 10:56 AM   #2
Retired.

Currently Looking...
. , At Large
Welcome to the forums.
What is the towing capacity of the Nissan? How long is the Airstream, and how much does the Airstream weigh?
Old 02-21-2017, 11:30 AM   #3
Rivet Master

2006 23' Safari SE
I'm In , Kentucky
Hello from central Kentucky and welcome to the forums.

I did a little research on your TV (tow vehicle) and you have a maximum towing capacity of 5,000 lbs. The highest cargo capacity for the 3 models is 1108 lbs. I don't know what the maximum tongue capacity is.

An older model AS (Airstream) might work but for 2007 you'll have to go with probably a 20' model (or less) or upgrade the TV.
2004 4Runner SE 4.7L V8
Rich W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2017, 12:33 PM   #4
PKI
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
Walnut Creek , California