Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-18-2013, 08:34 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Santa Fe , New Mexico
What towing capacity do I need?

I'm totally new to towing. I've never hauled a thing in my life and I need some information. I know my trailer is rated at 5800 pounds. 2800 lbs each on the front and back axles. I don't know the tongue weight. I'm looking to purchase a tow vehicle but I'm not sure where to start. What kind of towing capacity do I need?
VtTim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 08:59 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1988 25' Excella
1987 32' Excella
Knoxville , Tennessee
It would be very good to load the trailer and get the tongue weight and the total weight before shopping for a TV.

Figure 6500 lbs or so for the loaded trailer and extra gear in the TV. I would want something that would tow about 7000 lbs. You will probably have a tongue weight of 800 or so lbs. So you need enough payload to carry that weight plus your gear and passengers. Whatever it is it should have the manfacturers tow package that probably will include a hitch receiver, tow mirrors, a transmission cooler, lower gearing, brake controller, etc. or have that stuff added on.

If you are looking at a TV that might be at full capacity it would be necessary to load the load the trailer and get the tongue weight ahead of time. Tongue weight and payload of the TV are what you mostly need to worry about. There should be a wide range of TV's available that will handle that trailer safely and comfortably.
Bill M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 09:08 AM   #3
Rivet Master

I think more info is needed

What is the dry weight, estimate of the loaded weight?