Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Closed Thread

Old 08-12-2015, 10:22 AM   #21
Rivet Master

2007 30' Classic
KW , Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franswa View Post
No, I'm not an automotive engineer, and neither are you likely, I'm a gold level Porsche master technician at a busy dealership. And I'm sorry but my ignorance is based on years of factory training and repairing these vehicles from the day they were introduced. I also drank water from a garden hose, rode in the back of a pickup, have over loaded my own vehicles and lived to tell about it. However someone asked for the rated specs, and I provided them. Nothing more. I treat every vehicle like my own, and as much as it pains me, I learned long ago I can't control what the customer does with their car once they walk out the door. However in my job I can't tell you that your vehicle can do something whether I think it can, or I would do it my self. I can only advise that the manufacturer does not rate the vehicle for that. I'm happy to answer any questions on these vehicles as I probably know more about them by now than some of the German engineers that designed them, but I have also seen every single cayenne failure point many times over, so I know exactly what weaknesses can be exposed by hard use, and have seen them before. In the end it's personal preference for choosing one vehicle over another.
And if any one is ever in the Boston area towing an Airstream with a cayenne or Taureg and needs assistance or wants me to look at it, I'd be happy to offer a hand, judgement free, which is perhaps more than I could say for you based solely on your last post. (I'm sure your a fine person)
Thanks Franswa for clarifying your role with them. I appreciate knowing in what basis your claims are made.