Old 11-01-2009, 07:15 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Two axles vs. one axle

I've been towing a Globetrotter single axle trailer for over twenty years. I'm now considering buying a new Flying Cloud 23FB, a dual axle unit.

Can anyone advise me as to what to expect towing a dual axle trailer compared to a single axle rig?

Also, and this is critical, I have a long driveway with some pretty tight turns and I'm concerned the the new trailer won't clear some of the obstacles around the turns. The Globetrotter is 20'8" overall and 13'0" from hitch to axle center. The new rig is 23'9" overall and 13'0" from hitch to the space between the wheels, so the first axle is closer to the hitch than that on the Globetrotter.

So the question is how do I measure the turning moment? Is it from the hitch to the first axle, the center of the two axles or to the second axle?

A secondary concern is the overhang from the wheels to the rear of the trailer. I don't know the measurement of the new rig, but I know it's at least two feet longer than the Globetrotter. The rear overhang affects the outside radius of turns where the hitch to axle distance affects the inside radius of turns. I'm not sure which is more important, but my first concern is to figure out if I can negotiate the obstacles on the inside turns.

Any help would be appreciated.

Rick

Old 11-01-2009, 07:42 PM   #2
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer

Corona , California
Quote:
Originally Posted by farreach View Post
I've been towing a Globetrotter single axle trailer for over twenty years. I'm now considering buying a new Flying Cloud 23FB, a dual axle unit.

Can anyone advise me as to what to expect towing a dual axle trailer compared to a single axle rig?