Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-07-2017, 01:20 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2017 16' Sport
Portland , Oregon
TV Woes: Small Fuel Tank, Low MPG

Hi there!

I'm the proud new owner of a brand new 16' Sport and this is my first post. I hauled the little Bambi on its maiden voyage last week. This is my first time towing a trailer. My TV is a 2014 Kia Sorento V6 AWD, which I've been mostly happy with until now. While it seemed to handle the "lightweight" trailer mostly ok, it struggled up and over the steep hills to the west coastline. It was continuously reving at around 3000 rpm to maintain somewhere between 40-50 mph and my fuel economy dropped drastically, resulting to just 12 mpg over the course of the trip both there and back. It's normally around 18-20 mpg not towing. It was a 2 hour drive. I had to fill up before leaving town and again before I made it back. My fuel tank size is only a minuscule 17.4 gal capacity. At this rate, I figure I can only count on getting about 200 miles to the tank. That's a problem. I've been on some long road trips where there's not exactly a plethora of gas stations to choose from in that distance, if any at all. We have a long trip planned for the summer that has us going through Glacier and up to Banff. I'm not feeling confident that the Sorento is going to make it those long distances, over huge mountains, in the heat, much of it in complete wilderness.