Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-22-2016, 12:51 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2016 16' Sport
Cedar Park , Texas
"Trailer disconnected" error message - F150

A newbie here. Took my 2016 16' Bambi on its (and my) first trip with my F150 (also 2016). Several times on the way down to where we decided to stay, I got the"Trailer disconnected" message. Each time, stopped, checked it out, saw nothing wrong. On the way back, same thing, so this time I stopped, took of the sway bar and seemed to be fine, so I thought it was the sway bar.

Took it back to the dealer on another matter and asked them about this problem and to check it out. When I picked it up, they said they could find nothing wrong on their side but we agreed that perhaps the sway bar was too much & I decided to keep it off. Sure enough, on the way home, there goes the old "Trailer disconnected" -- twice. Each time, can't see any issue.

Edit: I should add that this is the first time I've ever towed anything. So all advice appreciated, no matter how basic it seems!

Anyone else have this problem? Any suggestions? I checked the Ford owner's manual and it indicates that this message is related to the brake controller identifying a disconnection. Could use a bit of help here!
travellvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 01:03 PM   #2
Retired.

Currently Looking...
. , At Large
We've had several late model F150s that had electrical/electronic problems dealing with the trailer connection or brake controller. In most cases, a trip back to Fordland was needed.
Old 12-22-2016, 01:08 PM   #3
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
Mantua , Ohio
Yup, go to the ford dealer.
xrvr is offline   Reply With Quote