Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-22-2007, 03:48 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Powder Springs , Georgia
Towing school

I'm not exactly sure which category this should be under but I have not been able to find any other threads on the subject.

I have been reading this forum for several months in preparation for buying an AS. I can be pretty analytical at times. You all have convinced me that I will be better served with a 3/4 ton truck and plan to buy one in the next few weeks. I'm looking for a nearly new 23' Safari but who knows when I will find exactly the right one.

Meanwhile, I have some reservations about towing. I have pulled small motorcycle trailers long ago but this is a different level all together. I have some concerns about backing into a camp site and driving in heavy traffic. When I started riding a motorcycle, I attended the new riders course and learned the basics. It seems like there should be the same type of training for new trailer owners. I Googled the subject and found many courses but they were all in Europe. I know I can get in a large parking lot and practice, and I probably will do that, but does anyone know of any formal training that may be available on towing trailers?
Thanks,
Slim
SlimJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 04:01 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member

1975 23' Safari
1978 31' Excella 500
Franklin , Indiana
Send a message via Yahoo to DPeakMD
This is a really good idea, Jim, unfortunately I don't think many people would consider it for it's inherent value. I too ride a motorcycle and I attended a local rider's school with my wife when she was learning to ride. It was indeed a very valuable experience.

I've seen advertisements for RV driving schools on the internet. I believe they were geared towards owners of class A big rigs, not trailers.