Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-23-2012, 02:39 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2012 23' International
PDX , Oregon
Towing Question- 2012 Touareg TDI- Airstreams in general or 2011 Flying Cloud 23fb

Members,

I am a newbie to the forum and proud new owner of a 2012 TDI (Diesel) Sport with the tow package included. I am now in the market for a travel trailer to tow with my new TR. Being new to towing I have spent a lot of time reading through the threads on towing in general with a strong focus on Airstreams owners. My goal is to get a general sense of what other members are experiencing with towing either a 2011 or a 2012 within the TR specs of (7,770 TC & 616 TW). I am seriously considering an Airstream 2011 Flying Cloud 23FB with these specs:

Unit Base Weight: 4,746 lbs
Towing Capacity (GVW): 6,000 lbs
Hitch Weight w/lp and without options, water & cargo): 467 lbs

An obvious question, is do we have any members that are currently towing with this general configuration (2011/2012 Touareg TDI with 2011/2012 23fb Flying Cloud)? If so, please let me know your general towing feedback, to include if you are using a WD hitch (to include why) and the specs of your ball and shank mount.

Additionally, can anyone share experience/feedback on my plan to tow with this configuration? Is this trailer too much for my Touareg V6 TDI (Diesel) Sport?