Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-04-2014, 10:46 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1990 36' Land Yacht
San Antonio , Texas
Towing a vehicle

Greetings,

I have a 36' Land Yacht (1990), the manual says the towing capacity is 2000lb. Although I am new to RVing, that seems kind of low, any thoughts?
Old 01-05-2014, 05:09 AM   #2
Rivet Master
Commercial Member

2019 27' Tommy Bahama
London , Ontario
They regularly towed considerably more than 2000 pounds. To do so you need to strengthen the hitch receiver. Currently it is held on with 4 bolts with very little spread on the frame rail.

The car should have brakes on it, something like a brake buddy etc. Also make sure your tag axle brakes are working properly. Tag axle bearings should be regreased at 10,000 miles maximum and they use specific seals and bearings.

Try and keep the car reasonably light, you don't want to tow an Escalade.

Never under any circumstances back up with the car attached even 6' can bend something.

Andrew T

"One test is worth a thousand expert opinions."
Tex Johnston, Boeing 707 test pilot
Andrew T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 05:27 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1972 27' Overlander
Denver , North Carolina
Listen to the VAP podcast in which Andy explains all this in detail. I listened to it again yesterday, if you want to educate yourself on how things work between the TV and trailer the information is invaluable. The folks at Can Am have done years of research with many different vehicles and the results are amazing.

Lucky Dave, Denver NC
mccrosti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 08:07 AM   #4
2 Rivet Member

1990 36' Land Yacht
San Antonio , Texas
Quote: