Old 05-04-2018, 08:50 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2019 23' International
Seattle , Washington
Tow Hitch Help for BMW X5 xDrive35i Sport

Hi everybody. I need some help. First off i am new to towing and can say i know nothing about it I plan to get either a Sport 22 or Flying Cloud 20 FB. I have a few questions...
1. Hitch, where do i start I have no clue what hitch i should get. I will also need the wiring done as well. My BMW has neither. I am not capable of adding oil to my car so i am not the guy to do the instal . I have been reading some say don't let the BMW dealer (I'm in seattle) do the instal and some say make sure you let the dealer do the instal. I have been very happy with my dealer over the years if that makes a difference.
2. I keep reading about sway bars or stabilizers i don't know what that is but i am sure i want them after reading that they help.

So....... any help will do. what hitch, where to have the instal done and do the stabilizers come with the hitch or is that something completely separate.
Sorry for such a newbie question i just don't know where to start.

any advice will do!

thank you

Brad

Bradley G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 09:55 AM   #2
jcl
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
Vancouver , British Columbia
Welcome!

First, some terminology.

You need a hitch receiver (installed on the vehicle); electrical connections for lights, etc; a brake controller; and a weight-distributing hitch that helps control sway.

For the receiver, it depends on the series of your X5, which relates to the year of production. For early X5 models (E53) the BMW hitch was the only one to use. For the E70, there is a BMW hitch or an aftermarket, eg Curt or equivalent. For the F15, the latest series, the BMW hitch has a removable swan neck, and isn’t appropriate for weight distributing equipment. For that series, use something like the Curt.