Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-13-2016, 09:51 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2018 25' Flying Cloud
Grapevine , Texas
Sway Control Systems

A weight distribution system hitch is off limits for the 2017 Audi Q7. From the owners manual; never install a "weight distributing" or "load equalizing" trailer hitch on your vehicle. The vehicle was not designed for these kinds of trailer hitches. The hitch attachment can fail, causing the trailer to tear loose from the vehicle. The Audi Q7 has a towing capacity of 7700 pounds and the factory installed hitch is rated for 770 pounds. We plan to tow a 23FB with our SUV. Bear with me, somewhat of a newbie here. Is a dependent, 2-point sway control hitch a weight distribution system? Considering using the Reese Dual Cam HP Sway Control.
Mikeith84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 10:38 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1973 21' Globetrotter
Houston , Texas
Yes
Belegedhel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 10:41 AM   #3
3 Rivet Member

2007 27' International CCD FB
1987 25' Sovereign
1977 23' Safari
North Olmsted , Ohio
Exclamation

Be careful of your new car warranty.
Old 09-13-2016, 10:57 AM   #4
Rivet Master

1973 21' Globetrotter
Houston , Texas
There are many hitch systems out there that integrate a friction based sway control into the end connections of the torsion bars. The torsion bars provide the weight distribution, and the sliding connection at the end provides the friction for sway damping. You can get a very simple friction anti-sway device that can be used without weight distribution.

Good luck!
Belegedhel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 11:47 AM   #5
4 Rivet Member

1991 25' Excella
Stanfield , Oregon