Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2012, 07:44 AM   #1
Overland Adventurer
 
AtomicNo13's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
2009 34' Panamerica
Telluride , Colorado
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,885
Scan Gauge II

Anyone using a ScanGuage II? I tow with an Excursion. I'm hoping to learn a little more about how the v10 uses fuel by reading the info provided by the SGII.
Additionally, I am looking forward to the extra info such as trans temp, charge voltage etc.
__________________

__________________
AtomicNo13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 07:51 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
AWCHIEF's Avatar
 
2006 23' Safari SE
Biloxi , Mississippi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8,138
Images: 33
I have used mine on 4 different vehicles. Currently it is hooked up in the F150. It is a bit redundant in the F150 as it has a very comprehensive electronic data display system already built in.
__________________

__________________
MICHAEL

Do you know what a learning experience is? A learning experience is one of those things that says "You know that thing that you just did? Don't do that."
AWCHIEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 07:54 AM   #3
Moderator
 
DKB_SATX's Avatar

 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
1976 Argosy 28
Alamo Heights , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,401
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 7
My excuse to buy the ScanGauge II was to monitor transmission temperature in the truck. I found that it also provides a much more honest assessment of fuel use than the truck's overly-optimistic computer. I bought an extra cable so it's easy to pop out of the truck and use it as a code reader/reset for our other vehicles as well. I'm happy with the purchase.
__________________
ó David

Zero Gravitas ó 2017 Flying Cloud 26U | Il Progetto ó 1976 Argosy 28 Center Bath | WBCCI# 15566

He has all of the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire. ó Sir Winston Churchill
DKB_SATX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 08:03 AM   #4
Overland Adventurer
 
AtomicNo13's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
2009 34' Panamerica
Telluride , Colorado
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,885
Yes, my reason is for the trans temp data as well. My one big complaint with the Excursion (petty) is the rather soccer momish displays, and data output!
__________________
AtomicNo13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 09:35 PM   #5
Vintage Kin
 
slowmover's Avatar
 
Fort Worth , Texas
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,584
Images: 1
I compared and went with UltraGauge.

The old set of tools (mechanical) was:

1] tachometer
2] vacuum
3] fuel flow meter
and, optionally,
4] airspeed indicator

Usually a "set" is best to get an intuitive feel for what the vehicle is experiencing. After all, it really doesn't need us except to process visual information. This is about road & load. Traffic, weather and surface conditions.

The least amount of throttle (and brake & steering) is the optimum for FE. But the visual interpreter is subject to irrationality during information processing unlike the vehicle command. Bad code from the teenage years never subsequently re-written.

If the SG has a provision for "engine load", use it first to tailor footwork.

.
__________________
1990 35' Silver Streak Sterling; 9k GVWR.
2004 DODGE Cummins 305/555; 6-manual; 9k GVWR.
Hensley Arrow. 9-cpm solo, 15-cpm towing
Sold: Silver Streak Model 3411
slowmover is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 01:06 AM   #6
4 Rivet Member
 
steverino's Avatar
 
2010 27' FB Flying Cloud
Ivins , Utah
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 276
Images: 3
I use my SG II to watch EGT, diesel filter temp, and fuel flow (gallons per hour). The exhaust temps help me spot diesel regens, the fuel flow help me maximise fuel economy. It seems more responsive and meaningful than the miles per gallon calculation, but probably is basically the same info. the fourth gauge is usually set to engine oil, water, or transmission fluid temperature, or fuel level depending on circumstances.

I haven't found the torque or engine load gauges terribly effective, but haven't spent much time with them either.

2010 Ford F250 diesel.

Steve
steverino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 07:46 AM   #7
Overland Adventurer
 
AtomicNo13's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
2009 34' Panamerica
Telluride , Colorado
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,885
I got my Scan Gauge installed last night, then the sun went down!
I entered codes for the "X-Gauges" I wanted. I spent a while tweeking and finally went for a test drive.

Overall a pretty nifty little gadget. It has all the features I need... trans temp, accurate fuel levels, water temp, etc.

I routed the wiring through the dash so nothing was visible, then hardwired the connection to the OBD II connector. This way, should I ever require service at the stealership, they can plug in without ripping my connector off. I have the pinout info should anyone want it.
__________________
AtomicNo13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 09:05 AM   #8
4 Rivet Member
 
aluminitus's Avatar
 
1962 24' Tradewind
Tucson , Arizona
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 252
Images: 14
Blog Entries: 7
Just so you all know, the ScanGuage II is on sale at Amazon for $115 for the next three hours or so. It is normally $135.

The above link is through my Amazon store.
aluminitus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 08:45 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
andreasduess's Avatar
 
1984 34' International
Toronto , Ontario
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,496
Images: 5
Blog Entries: 1
If you have an Android phone or tablet, there are a bunch of $5 app that do pretty much the same thing. I use this one, with a $10 bluetooth transmitter from ebay that plugs into the car.

If you want to check if this is for you then the cheaper setup might be a good entry point.
__________________
andreasduess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 10:00 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
robert claus's Avatar
 
2000 19' Bambi
mt. Prospect , Illinois
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 765
Images: 19
I really like my Scangauge II, and keep track of mileage, voltage, turbo boost and accurate engine temp. It doesn't work the same on all vehicles, though. My Sprinter does not give a trans temp feed to the computer, so I can't get that, unfortunately. I use it to clear codes that trip the CEL light each time I cold start ( I have a glowplug that's out), and use the trip functions frequently. It's a great tool.
__________________

__________________
robert claus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dash and/or gauge replacement dadstoy Classic Motorhomes 19 11-19-2011 12:32 AM
How long can my battery cable be - and what gauge wire? robwok Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 3 10-20-2011 10:52 AM
C-Channel Gauge and Dimensions P&K Repairing/Replacing Floor &/or Frame 3 09-19-2011 11:37 AM
Rogue 10 gauge wire? pdallas Classic Motorhomes 12 06-06-2011 07:53 PM
Recommended 110V Wire Gauge SilverHoot Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 13 02-28-2011 10:42 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.