Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-01-2017, 06:46 AM   #1

Bradenton , Florida
Question about towing with a GMC Canyon Diesel

I am new to towing.. just sold our Class A diesel, and now jumping in to trailer life. I want to purchase a GMC Canyon Diesel (with tow pkg) to tow an Airstream. I guess there are many considerations beyond just towing capacity of this truck which is rated at 7600, so any words of wisdom are appreciated. I realize I will need extendable side mirrors. I have a blue ox that I used on my Tiffin. Will that be something I could use to improve stability (or is this a dumb question??)..?
Anyone have a GMC Canyon Diesel Denali? Currently my vehicle is a Lexus RX350. With the factory installed tow pkg, it is rated at 3500 lbs. Actually, the Airstream website shows my car pulling a couple different models, one of which is an Airstream 22. Not sure that is possible. Hate to give up my comfy ride, so if you have an RX350 and pull an Airstream, please tell me about your experience.
Thank you for any info and/or advice. I am ready to get started on my travel journey ASAP.
shelfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2017, 06:57 AM   #2
Half a Rivet Short

2017 30' Classic
2022 Interstate 24X
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Hi

Welcome to confusion

Do you have a specific trailer in mind? If you have not locked into one specific model, I'd work on that end first. A 16' Basecamp is a very different thing to pull than a 33' Classic. I would hold off on the TV purchase until you know what you will be towing. If you are buying new, trucks will only get cheaper in the next couple of months anyway