Old 02-02-2012, 02:35 PM   #1

Valparaiso , Indiana
Purchasing Dilemma - 22ft versus 31ft.

I recently retired and have been looking for a smaller, older Airstream to restore and travel in (up to 22 ft). I've focused on smaller units because the rehab part seems less imposing as does towing, something I have no prior experience with. So far, every trailer I have looked at either requires major rehab (beyond my skill level) or is already rehabbed and priced accordingly. Out of the blue, I discovered a 1973 31ft Sovereign for sale not too far from my house. It is in need of some TLC, but nothing I can't handle and is priced right. However, the thing is huge when compared to the others and I am somewhat afraid to pull the trigger. I am having a hard time picturing myself lugging this thing around the country. My tow vehicle is a 2008 Ford F-150 2-wheel drive with the bigger V8. I would be grateful for any feedback from anyone who has experience with larger trailers. Thanks to all in advance for considering my request....

Old 02-02-2012, 03:02 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1986 31' Sovereign
Miami , Florida
We ended up with a 31' for much the same reason -- the deal was right, the time was right. I had a (then)new Nissan Titan with a rated tow capacity of 9500# so was pretty comfortable with the big trailer (8600# max but we have never come close to that).

So, 45000 plus miles later I can report that the rig works just fine. We don't travel with a lot of stuff (we are half-timers) and there are just the two of us so the 1/2 ton works out. The 31 tows great - that length gives you great stability but can make for some interesting challenges backing into narrow campsites. Once you get some practice, it is actually pretty easy. We got some cardboard boxes, found a big empty lot on a Sunday morning and played "trailer jockey" school -- it really helped.