Old 07-23-2015, 08:14 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2010 30' Flying Cloud
Livingston , Texas
Pro Pride unhappiness

I tow a 2010 30ft Flying Cloud with an F150. I have been towing for the last five years and 80,000 miles with an Equalizer hitch. Just got a Pro Pride and I am not happy.
First a couple of things that I did not pick up in the literature or discussions. The hitch sits lower and uses up ground clearance that I did not expect. I cannot turn as sharply when backing with the Pro Pride as I could with the Equalizer. After about 10 hitch up trials I can see it will take me longer to hitch than the Equalizer did because of the weight distribution jacks.
But the real deal breaker is the ride. Folks told us the ride would improve but our experience has been just the opposite. There is a lot more movement in the cab and my wife started to get motion sick in the passenger seat on a test ride.
Anyone else have a similar experience?

Old 07-23-2015, 08:31 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2016 30' Classic
Erie , Colorado
Once you get the alignment figured out it gets much quicker. Other thing that helps with speed is an 18-20V drill. Dial in the setup following the any of the suggested processes on the forum. Once you have the height of the jacks where you want them I simply took a piece of 3/4 PVC and cut it to that length. Put a string on it so you can find it/hold it. Run the jacks up to the approximate height and use the pvc to measure. I put it on the base and under the bottom edge of the top section of the jack.

Should be able to turn nearly as sharply but I've never had anything but a PP on the AS.

Ride could be to much weight on the F150. If you haven't done so make a trip to the CAT scales to get all of the weights and to help dial in the jacks. Do the weighing ready to go camping. Full Propane, full fresh water, AS loaded with your stuff, truck loaded with the normal passengers and stuff in the back.

Do the CAT scale passes, minimum of 3, to get the actual weights.