Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-18-2013, 11:33 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2014 27' Flying Cloud
Seattle , Washington
Newbie Needs Help with Towing Questions

Hello! This is my first time posting in this forum - happy to be here! I am seeking expert opinions on some serious towing questions.

My husband and I are planning on buying a 28' Flying Cloud Airstream that we will live and travel in for 6-12 months. We have a new 2013 Toyota Tundra 5.7 liter V8 with factory installed tow package. My concern is primarily with safety: Is this a safe configuration of tow vehicle/RV?

Also, which hitch set-up would be best (safety-wise) for our situation: Hensley? ProPride? Others?

Finally, I know nothing about this sort of thing (but learning a lot!) and even less about which kind of trailer brakes I need and what to look for in that area. Any suggestions??

Again, we are looking for the safest configuration for our situation. Specs are listed below, and our Toyota tow vehicle has a factory installed tow package which includes the following: towing hitch receiver, trailer brake controller prewire, tow/haul mode switch, transmission fluid temp gauge, supplemental engine oil cooler, supplemental transmission cooler, heavy duty battery w/ 170 amp alternator and 4/7 pill connector.

Thank you for your time and helpful opinions and suggestions! If anyone would like to give us pointers on how to figure all of this out for ourselves, that would be much appreciated, too!

2013 Toyota Tundra 5.7L V8 4x4 Double Cab, Regular Bed:

Rear Differential: 4.300
Wheel Base: 145.7
Curb Weight: 5,625
GVWR: 7100
Max Payload: 1,515 - 1,640
Tongue Weight Capacity: 1,030
Max Towing Capacity: 9,900