Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-14-2015, 12:38 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2015 27' FB International
San Jose , California
Newbie here looking for best tow vehicle

Recently bought a 2015 27FB and it's clear I'll need to pick up a tow vehicle to get around since my Jeep JK likely can't support. I wondered if anyone has any opinions between newer model Ford F-150's and Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra. I would prefer to stick to the 1500 class. Thanks for the help!
theflash44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 12:59 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2008 25' Classic
Full Time , Texas
Lots of info in this forum. Look around and see what people use. Members tow your size trailer anywhere from mini vans to Freightliners.

Given the two choices above the Ford F150 offers one advantage to the GM is you can get it with a larger fuel tank; 35gal vs 26gal in the 1500 series.

Make sure you consider payload when choosing. Your trailer will have at least 1000lbs hitch weight so look for something with 1600lb payload or more. Look at the tire and load sticker on the drivers door to see the available payload.

Kelvin
KJRitchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 01:40 PM   #3
Full Time Adventurer

2007 27' International CCD FB
Nomadic , USA
Ditto to the above. And the best tow vehicle is the one you use and enjoy.

And without getting into the debate of GM vs Ford vs Ram vs Toyota vs 1/2 ton vs 3/4 ton etc... don't be one of these guys I see over on the truck forums complaining about how they bought a truck that they don't really like because they got such a great deal on it.