Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-04-2013, 08:05 AM   #1
Rivet Master

2014 30' FB FC Bunk
Hoover , Alabama
NewB Towing Anxieties

Ok, so I have 1.5 weeks until pickup of my 30' AS.

I am in the process of creating a number of checklists (kinda like my ol' dad uses when flying) to keep me and the wife straight.

I am a cautious driver...in my 14 years of driving I have not had a single accident - avoided many - lived in philly, northern VA, southwestern VA, and Birmingham, AL.

I have towed my 17 foot bass boat for 5 years now.

Backing it was tricky to get used to - single axel - its hyper-responsive to turns, tracks like crap. As such I am not too worried about backing...no more than any reasonable person would be...I will be taking my time, will rely on wife, get a bakup camera for the AS, and again, inspect the area, TAKE MY TIME...I dont want to make this thread too much about backing as this is not where most of my anxiety lies (but if you have some things to say about backing, by all means, I am aware of the marital stress about communicating that way )

My real "anxiety" (I put it in quotes as it is not that dramatic or pronounced, rather I suppose just some healthy anxiety on the subject) lies in manuevering the AS when needing to stop somewhere unknown...say gas stations, parking lots.

Recall this one time (and I stress *ONE TIME*) that I pulled into a cracker barrel with my bass boat and pulled back into an area of an empty parking lot that I thought had an exit....ended up trapping myself in (I know, STOOOOPID) and then having to unhook - turn trailer around by hand (it is obviously quite light and this was flat pavement) then leave....very frustrating.