Old 05-18-2012, 03:04 PM   #1

Currently Looking...
lawrence , Kansas
need help figuring out a tow vehicle!

hello!
i'm pretty new to all of this & would really appreciate any help you might be willing to offer!

my boyfriend & i are planning on buying a 1970s airstream this fall, anywhere from 24'-31'.. it's kind of up in the air because it depends on what we can find in decent condition when we have the money ready to invest.
my current car definitely can't tow anything, so i'm going to need to buy a different vehicle to tow with... here's where i need a little advice...

we'd really would like to find something that runs off of diesel. (we're throwing around the idea of converting it to run off of veggie oil, but even if we don't do that, we still would like to have a diesel.)
we also don't have an extremely large amount of money to spend on a tow vehicle, so we'd like to get something older, cheaper, & really sturdy. what it looks like on the inside/outside doesn't matter to us at all, as long as it runs on diesel & can pull an airstream! it would be really nice to find something that seats more than 2 people (we have a huge dog & frequently take roadtrips with others.)

we're planning on living in the airstream indefinitely & doing a great deal of traveling with it for at least a year (in all types of terrain). so, the tow vehicle will be used quite a bit.
does anyone have any tips, pointers, thoughts, or anything that could help us out?

thank you SOOO much!!!

Old 05-18-2012, 05:15 PM   #2
Bex
4 Rivet Member

1976 Argosy 28
Eckville, Lacombe County , Alberta
Send a message via Skype™ to Bex
Chev Suburban 6.5TD or the GMC equivalent would probably work for you.

Good luck with your search

Bex

A wise man once told me he wanted to stay fit enough to run a marathon on his hundredth birthday. Another said he wanted to be shot by a jealous husband on his, I'm with the latter. God bless you Richard.

Carpet Cleaning is what I do, it's not who I am.