Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-01-2019, 11:33 AM   #1
Rivet Master

2019 25' International
Providence , Senior Electrical Engineer
Lining it up without a trailer caster

As a TT noob, I'm not new to towing....towed things like motorcycles, car trailers, boats etc... ALL of the things I've towed, the trailer always had a drop down caster wheel to "position" the trailer "over" the ball, drop....and off we went.

So I was thinking about the logistics and it dawned on me that the AS doesn't have this. My TV (2016 Yukon XL) has a backup camera I "think" that will make the job easy enough, does anyone ever "add" a caster wheel to help move it into position on a LEVEL surface? Does it make any sense to do such a thing for being able to simply drop the AS on the hitch instead of playing the back and forth left/right game with the TV?

Seems like that would be an "easier" option, but not exactly sure if it makes sense to add or not?

Search engine isn't as helpful as I'd thought, or I'm just looking or asking it the wrong thing...

Thoughts?

Thanks,
Chris
kittmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 11:41 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2007 27' International CCD FB
San Diego , California
Hi Chris.

The problem with a caster on the tongue jack is that you will have no effective brakes on the trailer. With anything other than completely level, that would be a huge liability.

Also consider that these larger trailers are upwards of 4k-9k lbs, with ~1k tongue weights. Casually pushing around the tongue to line things up is not going to happen.

Best practice is to play the TV back and forth game. Don't worry, you'll get very good in time, especially with a camera. Even better with a spotter.
pteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 11:56 AM   #3
Wheels Itch)(Must Travel

2014 25' FB Flying Cloud
- east coastal area - , Florida