Old 05-05-2016, 07:23 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2016 30' Flying Cloud
Lake Oswego , Oregon
Jeep Grand Cherokee and 27FB

Another newbie here, we just purchased a 27FB and we are using a Jeep GC Summit with the diesel engine as the TV. We have a Blue Ox Sway Pro hitch with 1000lb torsion bars. I seem to be having trouble getting the weight off the back wheels of the TV. With the air ride disabled on the GC and the sway pro in the 10th link everything looks level. When we take it to the scales the numbers are as follows: Front 2900#, Rear 3700#. AS 5700#
The Jeep alone comes in at Front 3050#, Rear 2850#. The AS is about 6500#

With the sway pro in the 9th link, it again looked level but the Front was 2900#, Rear 3850#. AS 5650#

So I feel I am going in the right direction but not sure if I can get the hitch high enough to use the 11th link.

I have read most of the posts about hitches and towing with a GC that I feel I must be missing something. Thanks in advance for any help.

Old 05-05-2016, 08:55 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1986 34' Limited
1966 24' Tradewind
Conifer , Colorado
Hi golfer503. Welcome to the Airstream community. Your first post has very important numbers in it, so I'm sure you will get good responses from these helpful Forum members. The first question asked may be the tow ratings for your Grand Cherokee diesel. Your front and rear axle ratings and your gross vehicle weight rating will be important before you go to the scales.

It seems you are on the right track in getting some tongue weight distributed to the front axle and trailer axle. Maybe you measured the height off the ground of your vehicle loaded with passengers and gear of the front fender lips in line with the center of the wheel both left and right, as well as the rear fender lips in the same manner.