Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-09-2014, 06:27 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1969 27' Overlander
Middletown , California
I've never towed before

Hi,

I have a 1969 27' Overlander that was towed to my place a few years ago when I bought it. I have recently purchased a V10 Diesel Volks. Tuareg which should do the job of towing no problem. It has the square steel tow part attached to the truck but I would need the ball/ hitch, and was told I would need sway bars. I also need new tires (4) and would like the breaks checked/ replaced. I assume I will need some kind of a hookup for the lights too. As I said, I am new to this.

Can anyone recommend those things I need, and a place to go to get them in the SF Bay Area or the Napa area? Can a tire/ car repair place do the breaks? The wiring?

I would appreciate any input!

Thanks!

Wade
Big Canyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 06:49 PM   #2

2017 26' Flying Cloud
Alamo Heights , Texas
You will also need a brake controller, the vehicle doesn't have one built-in. The "hookup for the lights" needs to be a particular type, with 7 connections. A tire shop is not likely to be the place to help you, a trailer-service place or a GOOD RV dealer/service shop. I don't have anyone to recommend for you out there, hopefully someone local will know.

There's a bit of a black art to setting up a weight-distributing hitch with air suspension, and if I'm not mistaken all the V10 TDI Touaregs had the air suspension... the newer-generation V6 TDI doesn't. There are a couple of people who have or had Touareg tow vehicles on here, and I'm sure there are some Touareg forums with vehicle-specific info to help you.

Best of luck, and welcome to AIRForums!

Zero Gravitas — 2017 Flying Cloud 26U | WBCCI# 15566

He has all of the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire. — Sir Winston Churchill