Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-24-2012, 02:20 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2001 25' Safari
Fort Collins , Colorado
Introduction and Q...

Hi,

I am a newbie on the forums and I am hoping to be a new Airstream owner, possibly as soon as this weekend. I have been looking at Airstreams in the 18'-22' range for several years and have finally decided to take the plunge. I have been camping in my 97' 8 1/2 foot Alaskan truck bed camper for 13 years now and while I really like the camper, packing up and putting it down every day so that I can use the truck to get around is getting old. I sometimes flat tow my jeep behind it but that is also a hassle unless I am going someplace like Moab where that is the whole point of the trip.

On to my question... I have a 99' F-250 8' bed w/extended cab, 5-spd manual transmission and the V10 engine. For towing a 18'-22' ~4000 lb. gross, ~500 lb. tongue weight camper will I need an anti-sway and/or weight distributing hitch? If the answer is yes then would something more like a friction system do the job on this lighter weight setup rather then the expensive and complicated Hensley or ProPride setups?

Any insight would be apprecciated!

-Scott
Jinkers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 03:02 PM   #2

2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
2012 23' FB Flying Cloud
2005 25' Safari
Santa Rosa Beach , Florida
Greetings from the Florida Panhandle

Welcome to the Forums. We're glad to have you with us.

As to your question, I would highly recommend a quality weight distribution/sway control hitch system. I would take a look at the Reese and the Equalizer. Both are quality systems, and cost about a third of the price of a Hensley or ProPride.