Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2013, 02:12 PM   #15
cwf
Rivet Master
 
cwf's Avatar
 
1999 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Hillsboro , Texas
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5,936
Images: 2
On our Chevy 2500 the "trailer brake controller" is factory. I can set a "number/level" then push on a lever to "manually" engage Trailer ONLY brakes.

Balance is key between TV and AS. I run 5.5 on our Chevy in interstate traffic when first got it. Now I am more comfortable with 6. If your system is solar then starting at 6 sounds good. Be prepared to adjust.

Ideally, the trailer should provide ALL braking needed by TT. BUT you do NOT apply full power all the time. That is where the controller allows for variance to meet your tow demands.

When trailer empty less braking needed.

Another check I used was to manually engage the electric brake "break away" emergency switch. All wheels should "lock" and tires skid. I know that is not "best" braking as you get with anti-lock system, but they SHOULD be capable of holding wheel from rotating at full power.
__________________

__________________
Peace and Blessings..
Channing
WBCCI# 30676
cwf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 02:44 PM   #16
3 Rivet Member
 
panheaddale's Avatar
 
1964 26' Overlander
1968 30' Sovereign
Vintage Kin Owner
somewhere , Tennessee
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by DKB_SATX View Post
For a 3rd-party brake controller, I'm not sure that's true. You'd need a connection from the light circuit to the brake activation circuit, which would probably pulse the brakes when your turn signals or hazards were flashing unless it was wired just right.

Now, for the factory brake controllers, I have no idea. It would be easy for vehicle engineers to set this up, but I don't think aftermarket brake controllers have the connectivity. I realize that the OP is asking about his Ford integrated brake controller, so if that's specifically what you're talking about, I'm sorry for the interruption.
Yes aftermarket controllers do light the brake light when manually activated. Check your information before GUESSING. Brake controllers are wired through the brake light circuit
__________________

__________________
panheaddale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 04:19 PM   #17
Moderator
 
DKB_SATX's Avatar

 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
1976 Argosy 28
Alamo Heights , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,401
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by panheaddale View Post
Yes aftermarket controllers do light the brake light when manually activated. Check your information before GUESSING. Brake controllers are wired through the brake light circuit
I'm aware that the brake light circuit signals the controller. I may have a fault with my memory or the controller, because I think I tested this when I initially installed the controller and it did not light them with manual application. Thinking about it, though, I also had to replace my first controller shortly after I bought it, which may be related.
__________________
— David

Zero Gravitas — 2017 Flying Cloud 26U | Il Progetto — 1976 Argosy 28 Center Bath | WBCCI# 15566

He has all of the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire. — Sir Winston Churchill
DKB_SATX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 11:49 PM   #18
Moderator
 
DKB_SATX's Avatar

 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
1976 Argosy 28
Alamo Heights , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,401
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by panheaddale View Post
Yes aftermarket controllers do light the brake light when manually activated. Check your information before GUESSING. Brake controllers are wired through the brake light circuit
So today was the first time I'd hooked up the trailer since this thread. Key on or key off, pressing the truck's brake pedal activates the trailer brakes and the brake lights on both the truck and the trailer. Key on or key off, manually activating the brake controller with the DOES NOT light the brake lights on either the truck or the trailer.

So much for "GUESSING." My memory of my initial OBSERVATION was accurate, at least for my truck (2007 F150 with factory towing package) controller (Tekonsha Prodigy P3) and trailer, manually activating the brake controller does not light the brake lights but they work normally with the brake pedal.
__________________
— David

Zero Gravitas — 2017 Flying Cloud 26U | Il Progetto — 1976 Argosy 28 Center Bath | WBCCI# 15566

He has all of the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire. — Sir Winston Churchill
DKB_SATX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 01:11 AM   #19
Rivet Master
 
RamblinManGa's Avatar

 
2016 28' Pendleton
Currently Looking...
Scottsdale , Arizona
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 840
Images: 2
Hi from AZ. . . My F150 FX4 w/factory brake controller And Reese WD hitch set-up pulling my 05 Safari 25 (Iknow,I know, lotta variables) works very well set at 4. regards, Craig
__________________
WBCCI 2851,4CU
RamblinManGa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 08:23 AM   #20
3 Rivet Member
 
Will_Brule's Avatar
 
2014 25' FB Flying Cloud
Palestine , Texas
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 106
Images: 2
Thanks to all. We got our TT on Wednesday. The dealer helped to ensure we had the initial setup right (4) for running unloaded. Hauled it 140 miles home from Fort Worth. No problems. Backed alone into a space with about 18" on each side. Lots of sweating, but no dings.
__________________
Will_Brule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 08:58 AM   #21
Rivet Master
 
daveswenson's Avatar
 
2012 28' International
Issaquah , Washington
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by panheaddale View Post
Yes aftermarket controllers do light the brake light when manually activated. Check your information before GUESSING. Brake controllers are wired through the brake light circuit

The brake controller may be wired directly to the brake light switch, but the trailer brakes are not. They are activated by current from the controller. They run off a different pin and different wiring than the brake lights. Sending current to activate the brakes by using the manual lever does NOT send current to the brake lights. At least not with my controller.
__________________

__________________
Dave

2014 Ram 2500 CTD
Pro Pride
Centramatics
daveswenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.